Voltmodding my 7900 - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 08:57 AM   #41 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

woo, now 17.8k in 03.

only 6000 in 05... i am confused about that. i was expecting higher. maybe i am just not used to 3dm05 scores. i only just now DLed it.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:10 PM   #42 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
woo, now 17.8k in 03.

only 6000 in 05... i am confused about that. i was expecting higher. maybe i am just not used to 3dm05 scores. i only just now DLed it.
its your cpu taking you down win 05.. anyway, i'll be buying my voltmodding supplies today, and hopefully i'll hit over 11,000
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:13 PM   #43 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

cool, i will see how you get on, as i am considering it.

the only thing i am worried about is the warranty, but i suppose you could make the card look pretty much back to normal really... it is just, £200 is a lot to lose for a 16 year old.

i am pleased my memory has hit GTX speeds with no cooling though.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:23 PM   #44 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i'll tell you how it goes, seeing as i'm not really good with these kinda things, if its easy enough i'll let you know, but from what i'm reading and seeing it seems fairly easy, and doesnt take much work at all.... soooo, i'll let you know how it goes... unless i mess up... then i won't be back... but, if i do mess up, how do i take off the pen? ... and to measure voltage, i do that with the card in and running correct?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:25 PM   #45 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

just pure alcohol with something to apply it to and wipe the card with i think. are you going to vmod the memory or just the core?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:27 PM   #46 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i'm going to do both memory and core, for memory its fairly easy, just pencil it in and check for a certain ohm's
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:29 PM   #47 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Guys make sure you put your entry into the Volt mod thread


Im working on mine

Also Apokalispe are you doing a 1.55?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:36 PM   #48 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

how do you get 1.55??? and i just read on 1.4, i think gtx speeds will do me just fine for my stock heatsink.. i won't go anyfurther until i get a vf900
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:37 PM   #49 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

you connect both of the bits next to each other with the other bit to get 1.55v. you will have to look at that guide posted earlier, it explains.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:44 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

and the only problems that can happen with 1.55 is artifacting, and to fix that is to clean the card. seems easy enough for a massive overclock.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.