Voltmodding my 7900 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 12:20 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

oh, and in that guide, when it tells u to measure the ohm's or whatever, are u supposed to do that with the card installed in the computer or outside of the computer?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:23 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

mhm and if anyone needs to borrow one, (I have one)

Il gladly send it out in a envelope with bubble wrap and it wont cost you a dime, becuase buying it off radio shack is dumb when you have to pay for shipping and evryething....


so if your in need send me a PM
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:35 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

my radioshack is local and in stock, i dont mind payin $7

in that guide, when it tells u to measure the ohm's or whatever, are u supposed to do that with the card installed in the computer or outside of the computer?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 01:49 AM   #24 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ummmm... one question, i'm trying to overclock with riva tuner, but i can't figure out how.. any one care to explain???? and.. i think i'll be heading over to radioshack for the pen and ohm meter sometime soon.. take it up to 1.4 at least on stock heatsink
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 02:26 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

in that guide, when it tells u to measure the ohm's or whatever, are u supposed to do that with the card installed in the computer or outside of the computer?

plllllllllzzzzzzz, i need to know!
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 04:59 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

outside

Quote:
take it up to 1.4 at least on stock heatsink
what, with it loading at 80*C already?


is it a bad idea to underclock the 2d speed? mine seems to be set for 450/660 on 2d as well, which probably explains the high idle temps... (55-60*C)
joshd is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:04 AM   #27 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
outside


what, with it loading at 80*C already?


is it a bad idea to underclock the 2d speed? mine seems to be set for 450/660 on 2d as well, which probably explains the high idle temps... (55-60*C)
what?? who says i'm at 80 degrees????? my idol is usually sitting around 48.. full load is lil under 60.... i think i may be getting my materials needed for voltmodding tomorrow, so i'm in luck
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:06 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no, it's not a bad idea. your card will like you for it

anyway, when measuring the resistance (in ohms) you don't need the PC on with the card in. in fact it's better if it isn't on when you're measuring the resistance.

but if you wanted to measure voltage, you'd have to have it on.

and yes, that circuitwriter pen is the right thing to use.

anyway, to the above post:
increasing voltage increases heat output. since P = VI (power in Watts (watts = joules per second) is Volts x Amps)

heat is energy converted from the power you put into the card. it can also be measured in Watts (joules per second)

the more watts the card recieves, the more watts of energy it outputs as heat.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:07 AM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay... so i'm looking to spend under 20 bucks at radioshack then... ohm reader (thats for the pencil part right?) and the conductive pen right??? i'll try to take it to 1.4v on stock heatsink
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:13 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

no, i meant MY gt.

you reckon 350/550 odd would be about right for 2d?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.