voltages on board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2005, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18
Default voltages on board

Hey guys,

I was checking the voltages and temps in my BIOS for my new build and I noticed the following
(after playing Metal of honor on max settings)

cpu temp = 50 C
board temp = 37-44 C

12V source = 11.29V
5V source = 5.2V
3V source = 3.06V

I am concerned about the 12V being so low,....will it damage my CPU????

any info would be great

my sys is
CPU P4/3.0EGHz 800M 478P/1MB HT RT
DVD+/-RW 16x+|NECND-3520A
HD 120GB|HITC 7200R 8MB

the_gris is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225

i dont think it will damage it, but there is a possibility it could randomly shut down here and there because there is not enough power. If that is the stock PSU from you case, you could always grab an aftermarket powersupply (i recommend the thermaltake silent purepower 480w) to pump up that 12V rail. Just work with it for a few weeks, and try to do some benchmarks to see if the rail doesnt hold up. If the rail hold up to 100% cpu use, then you should be fine.

ak_smallz is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

All those rails are low, minus the +5v rail since its' actually showing higher than it should be.

RAM runs of the +3.3v rail I believe so it's not good for that to be low and as AK said it won't damage your CPU it will simply be undervolting it so don't be surprised if stability is an issue.

Unless your BIOS is just reading them horribly wrong you might want to consider a stronger PSU
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18

Thanks guys,

I think it is low, contacting Newegg right now (where I bought the case)

I also notice a lower tone in CPU fan when I run processes.

I appreciate all the help, last time I built a computer (other than now) was 97'. a blazing Cirix 200mhz
the_gris is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

A low or high rail can dammage your computer. They are more forgiving now though.

I would doubblecheck your PSU with a multimeter though, as my mobo lies by half a volt.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.