Voltage and you - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2006, 07:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

hednik you may have hit as far as this processor will overclock. sometimes though they just need a lot more voltage to stabilise but i would reccomend just keeping it where is rather than trying to supply that voltage if this is the case.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hednik
I am currently running at 2.64 ghz at a voltage of 1.408 right now. the ram is clocked at 196 right now and currently stable at 2.75 i ran prime95 and got a error saying "Error: rounding was .5 expected less than .4" I clocked it down on my htt and voltage up one step. From what i am reading with your posts haha maybe im not doing something right? I have ran it at 230 with a multiplier X9 and it has worked work well. From what I have been told the rpocessor shouldn't be that OC friendly so Im a little confused that maybe im doing something wrong. Im running on stock colling but i ditched the fans from the cases. I got 2 pretty nice antec 80mm variable speed fans (better cooling) and a 120mm fan in the back. The cables are all bundled up quite nicely. If you need anymore info ill be happy to provide. Oh btw the temp at 2.75 never got above 41 with prime95, got any suggests between the Zalman and Thermaltake CPU fans around 40$? I dont really want to take my mobo out and rebundled the system
Nice voltages there, but I think you might be able to move you ram voltage down a little bit. I had my cheap ram running with 2.8V and it gave me the same error after about 7 minutes or so. The ram is not running at stock speeds at the moment so there is no need to increase the DIMM voltage. Personally I like to keep the multiplier at the highest it can go. If you get new cooling, taking out the mothervoard is a must. Unless your getting a crappy aftermarket hs/f.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default

I went ahead and got the all copper HS/Fan from Zalman. I really didnt want to rebundle all the cables. Im glad I did because this time around I got them more out of the way. Ill try to lower the voltage on the RaM and see what I can do. My goaal is to try to get it to 2.75ghz stable and then see how it goes form there. I think it possible because my voltage is still very low and with crappy colling it never got over 36c load. Ill keep you all updated. I will prove that the 3500+ will overclock well

btw the voltage is at 2.6 right now
hednik is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 05:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default

This processor is a manchester core btw, most of the processor is see thatare 3500+ are Venice core's. Is there a dirfference?
__________________

hednik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.