Voltage increase - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Voltage increase

When I up the speed that my video card works at, do I need to give more voltage to it too somehow?

If so, how?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Upping your voltage requirs soldering a pot onto yoru video card, not worth it for the average person
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you can also do it via a BIOS flash using nibitor for nvidia cards, but not all will do it. 6600GT won't, 6800GT I will believe but it has a tendency to kill cards

overall you don't want to try it dude
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Cool... I didn't want to deal with the voltage changes on my video card as well... let me get this straight then... I just change the 350/1000 to 400/1100 or so and have no worries?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

My bios allows me to provide more voltage to my PCIe vid card, is this a bad idea?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

yes, ul be fine, go to ur nvidia settings, to frequency then u can click detect settings automatically, itl put it at around 410/1100. I run mine 410/1110 and im good. I use NV5, but even b4 it was fine, i idled 56/7 max dunno wat it was, now with nv5, i idle 52, max around 60.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
My bios allows me to provide more voltage to my PCIe vid card, is this a bad idea?
That's your PCI-E slot and not your card

It isnt a good idea, can hurt your transistors
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.