Voltage going crazy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2010, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Voltage going crazy?

I have my HD5870 overclocked to 1GHz at 1.25V and it has worked pretty well the past few days, but it just did this and I didn't mess with any settings. I was running Folding@Home. The screens (3 monitor Eyefinity configuration) flashed to solid colors (gray and red) for a split second and I checked on Afterburner to see that the voltage had shot up to 1.6V and was running at 88C. I immediately killed F@H and applied my Overdrive profile (900/1300 stock voltage).

Why would it randomly dump that much power into the card without me setting it? Is there some sort of failsafe or is Afterburner an unstable piece of software? If it randomly decides to burn up your card I don't ever want to touch it again. Is there a tool with more reliable voltage control? My 5870 is a reference design by Diamond Multimedia with the Volterra regulator, assuming the stock BIOS as it has the 900/1300 limitations in Overdrive.

__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

I wouldn't use MSI Afterburner on a Diamond branded card in all honesty.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 08:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

Sounds like your card may have a faulty voltage regulator.

I use MSI's Afterburner with a EVGA card and I see no reason not to use it with a Diamond card.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

Ehh, I just tend to not like the idea of using one companies software with anothers hardware.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

I updated to Afterburner 2.0 and haven't had the problem since, also the newest ATi drivers.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Ehh, I just tend to not like the idea of using one companies software with anothers hardware.
You mean like Windows?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

No, more like, using MSI software with ASUS hardware and vice versa, some software has options that can be enabled that another brands hardware may not support. I am just kinda used to how software used to work, guess it has changed a bit over the years.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 12:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

With my card being a reference design, I don't think that would be the case. The reference boards are pretty much the same between manufacturers because they use the exact same PCB and cooler. If it was a custom design then it might be an issue.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Voltage going crazy?

Yea, back in the day manufactures didn't use the reference designs very often, now in days, it seems they all do for the most part.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can I get to 2.8ghz on stock voltage but can't get anymore with more voltage? dario03 Overclocking and Modding 8 09-29-2007 10:53 AM
Crazy Dog, lol TheMajor Off Topic Discussion 6 01-16-2007 08:43 PM
crazy dunkindonughts1 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-07-2006 05:29 PM
he's crazy aliasaid Off Topic Discussion 9 04-20-2006 07:02 PM
Mod Crazy D2JunkieRG2004 Microsoft XBox 3 05-03-2005 10:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.