Voltage on e8500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Voltage on e8500

I am going to try and clock my e8500 to 4ghz and possibly more if you guys think i should. But I was trying to figure out what voltage to use. and if you no the v-drop or a reliable place to find this information at. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

v droop depends on the mobo. and obviously you are not using the one in your sig, so we need that info.
voltage for 4ghz can be anywhere from 1.2 - 1.45V, depends on the chip.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

Asus p5q deleuexe mb and corsair 750w psu and OCz reaper 4 gb 1066, wd 640gb and 4870 gpu
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

ok your board has a VERY little vdroop. PM gurusan, he can probably tell you his voltages. he has the same board as you and i. the voltage wont be very high.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

I dont want to keep bothering gurusan (pmed him a week ago and got no reply) But I am still very new at overclocking and trying to understand the voltages and frequencies to set my fsb to and all that good jazz. For my current build (listed in my sig) does anyone have good sources or a reliable website that has this information available or is overclocking just a "guess and test" procedure. Do you just have to try out combinations and if your computer crashed or gets the blue screen of death you have to adjust? I just want to see if there is an easier way to identify this. Your input is much appreciated
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

There are no set values. Every chip is very different from one another. You could set the voltage to where you'd like to run it daily. Say 1.35v and then turn the FSB up to you desired speed. The worse that can happen is it doesn't boot. If if does, then check for stability.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 12:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

What are some good stability tests currently out there?
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 12:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Voltage on e8500

intel burn test. Very quick
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
Voltage? Pepsiboy700 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-23-2007 01:53 PM
some newblet OC questions Durftard Overclocking and Modding 7 12-15-2007 02:05 AM
CPU Voltage questions Gabb Overclocking and Modding 28 11-21-2007 09:15 PM
Quick Voltage Question MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 14 07-29-2007 11:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.