Voltage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 01:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default Voltage

hey just wonderin if its safe to run my 3200 at 1.65vcore with stock cooler. when i tried it i didn;t get temps past 40 but it was a very cold day and i only played d3 breifly (like 20min) is it safe to have that much vcore?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 03:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Why wouldn't it be safe?

If it's cool then it's fine
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

It dont matter if its 1.8volt's. Only your temps determine whats safe.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Anything below 40 is fine. Your comp can never get frozen, but it sure can get burnt to hell.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The cut off point should be 50 at load, yer still fine
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Why 50C load??? If my system hits 60C load then i back off....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

because kids who let it go to 60C aren't as cool as the kids who let it only go to 50C
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
because kids who let it go to 60C aren't as cool as the kids who let it only go to 50C
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I feel hurt now.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

just let your CPU go to 40C and you'll be even cooler than the kids that let it go to 50C!

__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.