Vista X64 and GPU overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2008, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Default Vista X64 and GPU overclock

well.. this is very frustrating. i have windows vistas x64 and i am having very hard time overclocking my gpu because of it. Apparantly x64 has some kind of protocol or something that blocks gpu overclock usuage.

Anyone know a program that will work on x64, i have an ATI model by the way? any suggestions?


EDIT: o yea one more q. What do you guys think of using nTune (graphics control for nvidia) on an ATI card? i know it will work.. but any cons on using it on an ATI card?
__________________

Twalker323 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Vista X64 and GPU overclock

atitool =P rivatuner=P

<3
i have no idea about vista, but i dont see why vista would look at the driver-level clock frequencies and stop a change.. doesnt make sense
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Vista X64 and GPU overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
atitool =P rivatuner=P

<3
i have no idea about vista, but i dont see why vista would look at the driver-level clock frequencies and stop a change.. doesnt make sense
ati tools and ati tray etc dont work properly with vista x64. Rivatuner kind of works but its unable to configure the graphics card completely

vista x64 i think stops it due to security measures
Twalker323 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Vista X64 and GPU overclock

well i dont know then, i would use rivatuner (atitool newest version didnt work for my winxp either)

and rivatuner didnt work untill i fiddled around with it for a while


also, Ntune - i HATE THAT PROGRAM


its supposed to be 'safe auto-overclock'

thats ********, it automatically saves the settings to your drivers and you gotta remove them completely=/

pain in the *** to say the least

oh and by the way-

overclocking your GPU is fine if u want that max benchmark score or whatever,
but in real gaming its only going to make a 2-3% difference (at best) with a modest overclock

u REALLY gotta push them to get more power out of them, and you have to have excellent cooling

an example is my buddies 8800gts, he got a waterblock and everything just so he could get better framerates in crysis

on average it was a 3-8fps difference

.. not worth it IMHO, unless your card is the system bottleneck and u just want to squeeze those extra 3fps out for shts and giggles
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: Vista X64 and GPU overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
well i dont know then, i would use rivatuner (atitool newest version didnt work for my winxp either)

and rivatuner didnt work untill i fiddled around with it for a while


also, Ntune - i HATE THAT PROGRAM


its supposed to be 'safe auto-overclock'

thats ********, it automatically saves the settings to your drivers and you gotta remove them completely=/

pain in the *** to say the least

oh and by the way-

overclocking your GPU is fine if u want that max benchmark score or whatever,
but in real gaming its only going to make a 2-3% difference (at best) with a modest overclock

u REALLY gotta push them to get more power out of them, and you have to have excellent cooling

an example is my buddies 8800gts, he got a waterblock and everything just so he could get better framerates in crysis

on average it was a 3-8fps difference

.. not worth it IMHO, unless your card is the system bottleneck and u just want to squeeze those extra 3fps out for shts and giggles
ive been hearing that too but i got to at least give it a try.

i am ****ed right now that i am not getting a consistent rate of frame rate in fallout 3 right now. with everything set up high, the game has occasional spikes which is really ****ing me off.

but i hear the MSI ATI 4850 series has a pretty good cooler so i am thinking maybe it will be a bit better then 3 fps? we will see
Twalker323 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Vista X64 and GPU overclock

maybe, but you cant expect more than 10-15fps as an absolute maximum


and thats only IF the video card really is the system bottleneck..

you'll get more performance out of boosting the CPU most likely


..

but go ahead man push it to the limit=P i would
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Vista X64 and GPU overclock

Some of the coolers that MSI has got on the 9800 GT's and 4850's are just plain sweet. GREAT heat sinks, considering they come with the card at no extra cost.

Rich is right though, without a decent cooler GPU's can be VERY difficult to over clock.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking 8600M GS in Vista x64 SP1? CalcProgrammer1 Overclocking and Modding 12 09-06-2008 11:20 PM
New Updates Available for Windows Vista KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 0 01-24-2008 09:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.