vista ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spigen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 168
Default vista ram question

just curious about how much ram vista should be eating. or how much of a percentage is normal.

-currently this is what is running and my percentage on the side. When i start the computer up....with the computer running the same processes it idles around 18%, but then just casually climbs up to 35-40%.


any thoughts.
-oh yeah i've tweaked some of the services.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 920
Vigor Monsoon III
Asus R2E x58
3x2gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 @8-8-8-24
ATI Radeon HD4870X2
Ultra X3 1000W
WD VRaptor 300gb
(2)WD black ITB
Cosmos S
spigen is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: vista ram question

what are we looking at here
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: vista ram question

His wondering why his ram usage peaks from time to time.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: vista ram question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
His wondering why his ram usage peaks from time to time.
i know silly lol

im worse off than he is, but im running a game aswell

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: vista ram question

Mine idles at about 28% and only gets much higher when I'm doing something like playing crysis or some other intensive project. I've got 6 gigs.
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: vista ram question

cause vista is better for using the RAM....using RAM isn't a bad thing people..it means you're getting faster access to programs you use a lot
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: vista ram question

don't be concerned until you run out of RAM... like waffle said, you WANT to use you RAM!
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
spigen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 168
Default Re: vista ram question

ok, it just seemed strange that vista with nothing else hardly running could use 39% of 6GB of ddr3 ram.
__________________
Core i7 920
Vigor Monsoon III
Asus R2E x58
3x2gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 @8-8-8-24
ATI Radeon HD4870X2
Ultra X3 1000W
WD VRaptor 300gb
(2)WD black ITB
Cosmos S
spigen is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: vista ram question

it does seem strange
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: vista ram question

mine idles around 24% usage and gets up to like 40-50% when gaming
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another RAM question Niverive System Upgrades 1 09-14-2008 10:07 AM
To Vista or not to Vista, that is the question BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-20-2008 10:00 PM
Windows Vista RAM Deelow02 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 02-14-2008 03:26 PM
Vista Welcome Center Video RAM Info kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 12-14-2007 01:48 AM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.