Virtual RAM hack? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 05:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

There are ways to get oblivion running on older graphics cards or integrated cards, just search for it. I know the got it running on a Geforce 2 card. But seriously, dont expect much.

As for allocating more memory to the card, i would say its probably not possible if it is handled by the bios. You would probably need a hacked bios flash, which i would never do...
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

Have you heard of Oldblivion?
Its pretty good. Check the screenies, the graphics stay fine but it will actually be playable ^__^
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

It's a laptop, I can't get a new one. I'm stuck with what I have. To replace it I have to get a whole new motherboard (Eep!) I don't even know if they have a better board that will fit in my model.
TheCorsairMalack is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Talking Re: Virtual RAM hack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by westy159 View Post
Have you heard of Oldblivion?
Its pretty good. Check the screenies, the graphics stay fine but it will actually be playable ^__^
I'm gonna try this. Thank you SO MUCH!! All these other guys keep telling me the same thing. I want an answer, not a bunch of reaffirmations of something I already know!

*hands you the bag of digital cookies promised earlier*
TheCorsairMalack is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorsairMalack View Post
All these other guys keep telling me the same thing. I want an answer, not a bunch of reaffirmations of something I already know!
Okay buddy excuse me for trying to help you, if you already knew the answer you were gonna get maybe you shouldn't have posted here and insulted people when you got that answer.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

^^LOL^^
i still say you should get a new graphics card.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 07:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by westy159 View Post
Have you heard of Oldblivion?
Its pretty good. Check the screenies, the graphics stay fine but it will actually be playable ^__^
HOLY CRAP RADEON 9250 Supported!!

OldBlivion here i come!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 08:24 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorsairMalack View Post
I'm gonna try this. Thank you SO MUCH!! All these other guys keep telling me the same thing. I want an answer, not a bunch of reaffirmations of something I already know!

*hands you the bag of digital cookies promised earlier*
I do believe Peter gave you an answer,

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
More memory won't help, a better graphics core will.
You just chose not to listen.

You ask us to help you get more video RAM, and we say it won't work. You say it will work. Don't ask for help here unless you're going to listen to the people that help you.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 07:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

Okay *perks up ears* I'm listening. How do I get a better graphics core for my HP pavilion tx1000?
TheCorsairMalack is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 07:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Virtual RAM hack?

you probably can't change the video card on your laptop. In bios with an integrated gpu like that you can say how much ram you want to dedicate.

you'll have to use Oldblivion or spend a couple hours going through a guide like this to tweak each setting individually down real low so you can get decent fps, Oldblivion is probably the easiest option you have TweakGuides.com - Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Tweak Guide
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
On the lookout for the perfect Avatar Virtual Assistant creating Software onauc Web Graphics and Design 1 11-20-2007 07:48 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.