virtual memory question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default virtual memory question

Do you recommend adjusting virtual memory? If so, how do you best recommend doing it?
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would only shut it off or turn it on.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I recommend adjusting it! Microsoft recommends you use 1.5x the amount of RAM you have for your page file (virtual memory). So, in your case, it should be 3GB, according to MS.

But, since you have so much RAM, your page file isnt gonna be used that much, so I would keep it around 1GB to 2GB. Windows isnt gonna use the page file unless it needs to (which is doubtful that it will), so it doesnt really matter how big you set it, but if it is much more than 2 or 3GB, you will be wasting hard drive space.

I also recommend getting rid of the range that the page file can be. Set the minimum and maximum to the same value.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 03:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

If you set the Min and Max page file the same size wouldnt that force it to use the page file untill it hit the Min size of like 1GB as you sudgested to him? That dosnt make sense to me. It seems like it would spend too much time trying to balance the page file at 1GB or whatever it was set to, if the min and max were same.

Wouldnt it be better to set the Min to 0, and the max to 1Gb (or whatever) so that it would only use the page file if needed and not try to keep it full all the time.

Unless you have a reason/explanation for setting the min and max the same, then it makes no sense, and seems like it would hurt more then help.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

The reason why I say to make it so that the page file can never change size, is because it makes it easier for Windows to manage it. If Windows doesnt have to concern itself with changing the page file as it sees fit, then you may get a tiny bit more performance out of Windows.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tro1086
If you set the Min and Max page file the same size wouldnt that force it to use the page file untill it hit the Min size of like 1GB as you sudgested to him? That dosnt make sense to me. It seems like it would spend too much time trying to balance the page file at 1GB or whatever it was set to, if the min and max were same.

Wouldnt it be better to set the Min to 0, and the max to 1Gb (or whatever) so that it would only use the page file if needed and not try to keep it full all the time.

Unless you have a reason/explanation for setting the min and max the same, then it makes no sense, and seems like it would hurt more then help.

is the pagefile not just used as an overflow?
joshd is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 09:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Default

If your system has 2GB+ of RAM, than Virtual Memory may be turned off with varried effects, although thus usually produces a speed boost.

If your system has over 3GB of RAM, it is a good idea to turn it off. Performance gains here will probably be substantial, no matter what "Windows Says..."
__________________

arandalle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.