VideoCard Artifacting confusion. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default VideoCard Artifacting confusion.

Hey, I'm currently ocing my nvidia videocard with atitool .25, When I use the artifacting scanner it says that 'delta of 5643 [or whatever] is found in 12 pixels', and there are yellow dots on the rotating cubes, i think this is the artifacting but when I run aquamark 3, 3dmark03 05 and 06 there are no signs of artifacting.

Any help?
Thanks
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

That's artifacting. ATI tool seems to be the best at pushing cards to the absolute limit to see if it will artifact, try clocking it a bit lower and it should go away.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Ah ok, thanks loads
Willeh is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

what exactly is it doing when it is testing? why does the cube stop moving? i would have thought that it would have been more demanding if the cube was moving?

maybe it just sorts of put the GPU in a loop or something?
joshd is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

No idea but I think every 30 secs it's a heat up phase to put loads on your video card
Willeh is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

I don't know exactly what it does but my guess would be that it re renders that fuzzy cube as fast as possible and somehow compares it to what it should look like to see if there are artifacts.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya it just renders that fuzzy cube as fast as your gpu will let it, like playing a high demanding game. Then if something goes wrong it gets an error, or artifacts.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.