Video underclocking.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2004, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default Video underclocking....

Just wondering if anyone has done this...but as most of you know or if you don't know then this question is more for those that do then you know that the newer graphics cards when looking at the clock frequencies using a tool like Coolbits or RivaTuner will show you options for Standard 2D and then of course Performance 3D...

My question is...has anyone underclocked their card to the lowest settings it can go for standard 2D specifically for the reason, you really don't even need it at full speed just to be in windows, so why not keep the temperature down, not only on your graphics card, but the air inside your case at that...

My only concern would be the jump it'd make from standard 2D to when you loaded a game. My card is 300/500 in 2D, 425/500 in 3D, that's stock..I have it at 375/545 2D and 500/545 in 3D and the lowest I can set it in 2D is 215, so I'd be worried that perhaps the card after a while of use wouldn't like to make a jump from 215 core speed up to 500.....make sense to anyone else?

Basically does it seem like a worthy idea to underclock the video card for possibly cooler temps, whether in the system or also on your graphics card to keep it's temps down, but anyone think harm will be brought to the card from sitting at a low core speed then cranked up to double that when a game is started?

Thanks all

- Nubius
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

I wouldnt do it, just because over time it could cause significant damage to the card itself. Im not sure if that is correct though.

Also I dont think that underclock would do a great deal to decrease the temperatures as Video cards can take more than their fair share of heat and still survive.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The processor (CPU/GPU) is affected when being exposed to constant (drastic) changes in temperature. Due to the transistors expanding and reducing in size, they are microscopically cracked.

Overtime, the performance of the processor is reduced.
ag3 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Due to the transistors expanding and reducing in size, they are microscopically cracked.

Overtime, the performance of the processor is reduced.
Yeah that's what I was referring to, the expanding and shrinking of the transistors, this is mainly why I asked if it would be worth it, which I figured it wouldn't be, oh well curiosity
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

ag3 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

not a bad idea... in fact id be willing to bet money that before 2010 graphics cards will have energy/heat reduction instructions like processors are now getting... you know reducing the clock speed and all that good stuff, when its not being used.... just my premonition
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yeah, but over time it damages the hardware.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well then I pose the question, would overclocking the standard 2D to run above normal help the card in the long run, so that way when it goes to performance 3D settings it only jumps slightly further from the 2D point, although this means you'd be running constant temps, in the long run it technically should help it don't ya think
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

im gonna say no, why run too much juice when you dont need, and the card is designed to make that small of a jump?
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 05:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Either way the transistors remain hot and will not be affected.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.