Video Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2004, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 29
Default Video Cards


right now i own a GeForce FX5200 128mb. Now when i play most games (Battlefield Vietnam, Far Cry, Sometimes Operation Flashpoint:res) My computer will get choppy, or laggy. Is this the problem with my ram (768, i think its like ddr266) and my processor (p4 1.7)? or is it my video card, because my video cards core speed is 250/ memory speed 400 ?

Also i an looking to get a new system, and as for video cards i want to go with Nvidia. I have seen some cards at 128mb but core speeds are around 450-500 and memory speeds are 900-1024. Is this good ? If not what kind of geforce would be good?


kevinG is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256

ur entire system is pretty bad. dont go with an nvidia card, ATI owns nvidia

<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 02:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

of course though that is your opinion, ATI cards don't own nVidia by much., there're your answers, taken from wq87
compy is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 04:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

=p ati owns regardless, I used to be a total nvidia fan.. then I tried ati and I'm never going back to nvidia unless I see a dramatic change. Anyways your biggest problem is your video card, it's not exactly able to handle a game like farcry.. you might want to think about upgrading to a better video card.. a 9600 pro is pretty cheap and you'll get better results with that
Demalii is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

yeah, i agree with compy. The 5700 isnt to bad, about the same as the 9600. Although when i get my new computer, im not sure what to get: an X800XT or a 6800Ultra... I know the X800 is a bit faster... but the 6800Ultra has pixel shader 3.0 ....
<img src=\"\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

i guess it all come down to the price, and performance you want.
compy is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439

nVidia cards aren't that bad. They are just too expensive. I mean would you get the 5950 or a 9800 Pro. They perform pretty much the same. But the 5950 is twice the price of a 9800 Pro. That should give you an idea which card to get.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722

It is usually true in saying that NVIDIA cards cost more, check out these prices. I have picked the cheapest 6800 Ultra and cheapest X800 XT from

PowerColor ATI RADEON X800 XT Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, DVI/VIVO, 8X AGP W/ Limited Assassin Edition Backpack, Model "R42-TVD3" -RETAIL


CHAINTECH nVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-bit, Dual DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP, Model "AA6800UA1" -RETAIL


I didn't want to cheat so I just went straight onto These were the only two available though.

UK Site
256MB AOpen Aeolus GeForce 6800 Ultra £358.96

256Mb Connect3D Radeon X800 Pro £292.58

They had an XT version for "Call for price". I would probably say they are the same price. NVIDIA are getting smarter
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

there's got to be a reason why nVidia is more expensive some times...
compy is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 12:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372

dunno they go through diff testing and building procedures maybe they use more expensive equipment or sumtin


<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.