Video card overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2005, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Video card overclocking

I was wondering if there is anyway to overclock this piece of crap video card with some sort of program. It's a XGI Volari V3

Here's a link: http://www.xgitech.com/products/products_2.asp?P=4
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

use Riva Tuner.

Yes you can OC it, the amount of OCing you can do with stock cooling really depends on how well your case is cooled and what temperature your room is at.

Why did you chose this card to begin with? Or was it in your old computer?
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well It's not mine, I built a computer for my girlfriend's sister and she just basically does things like surfing and MSN and stuff like that so she doesn't really need a good videocard but when i come over to see my gf I play a few games on it sometimes.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Yah you can use Riva Tuner on it, but if thats all she does, OCing does increase the temps a little bit, and may cause more noise because the fans are working harder. I don't think the OCing you can do on that card would effect the games you play THAT much. MAYBE a 2-5 FPS increase.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

if riva tuner don't work use powerstrip (i know riva don't work on my laptop but powerstrip does)
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 06:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Thx becuase rivatuner wasn't working
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.