Video Card Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default Video Card Overclocking

I've been using Rivatuner to unlock all 8 pipelines and Coolbits to overclock my 6200. I can only get up to 348/598 before my 3DMark03 score starts to decrease.

There are two settings in BIOS that I think may help...

AGP voltage which is set to auto right now and I can increase it +0.1v, +0.2v, or +0.3v

and

AGP overclock which is right now set to 66Mhz.

Should I touch these settings or leave them alone?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

leave the AGP overclock at 66mhz and lock it. the AGP voltage really wont help, but i set mines at like 1.65V cause i "think" it helps me lol.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would leave the AGP settings alone.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
OverclockerzMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DON'T touch the AGP bus speed (66MHz).

Your score is decreasing because the card is getting too hot. Its called thermal throttling, I think. If your card starts to get too hot, then the card will underclock itself so you will get a lower score in 3DMark.
 
Old 10-17-2005, 04:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

your just pushing your video card too much. you just downclock a mhz or two or five, and run 3dmark again
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
leave the AGP overclock at 66mhz and lock it. the AGP voltage really wont help, but i set mines at like 1.65V cause i "think" it helps me lol.
All mine tells me is +0.1v etc, how do I know its exact value?

The frustration lies with this: I chose Coolbits to "Automatically detect the optimal settings" which turn out not to be that much higher than the stock settings (300/500), pushing it any higher decreases the 3DMark03 score.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg misc 011.jpg (62.7 KB, 57 views)
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Or invest in an aftermarket cooler for your GPU along with some artic silver 5.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

I am using an aftermarket cooler with ram sincs. To the touch it isn't getting hot at all.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
OverclockerzMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aftermarket cooler on your videocard, and still overheating? Thats weird. Well, check the temps with Rivaturner while running 3DMark03/05 and see how high they go, that'll tell you for sure.
 
Old 10-17-2005, 04:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Then I would stop being hungry for more before your card melts. Just my $.02
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.