video card bios flash. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2009, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default video card bios flash.

I was doing some reading, and came across this...
Quote:
As to flashinf bios, force flashed Sapphire HD4770 to ASUS Top mod bios with atiflash this allows an ATIOverdrive clock increase up to a max of 1000/1200 instaed of the standard 830/850. Also allows use of smart doctor to mod voltage.
i am currently using riva tuner to achieve higher overclocks for my 4770, but its very unstable and i get alot of hangs when using riva.

is it safe to flash my video card to another bios?
would you recommend it?

and if there are any tips, toss em my way. im just tryin to get the most out of my $100 spent

thanks
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: video card bios flash.

tried this?
techPowerUp! :: Download GPUTool Community Technology Preview 1
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: video card bios flash.

If your video oc is unstable using Rivatuner then flashing it is unwise. That Asus bios maybe useful if your card has the exact same memory and configuration as the Asus. But it probably doesn't.

I'm usually the 1st to Void My Warranty, but I wouldn't flash it.
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: video card bios flash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
If your video oc is unstable using Rivatuner then flashing it is unwise. That Asus bios maybe useful if your card has the exact same memory and configuration as the Asus. But it probably doesn't.

I'm usually the 1st to Void My Warranty, but I wouldn't flash it.
not the overclock that was unstable, riva was unstable, just something as simple as clicking one of the options say fan speed, it would cause a freeze up.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: video card bios flash.

Well try out gpu tool. Might be able to change voltages and stuff as well
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: video card bios flash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Well try out gpu tool. Might be able to change voltages and stuff as well
i wouldnt need to change voltages if i cant oc past 830 with CCC. i think im done with riva for a while, i did manage to get 1 good bench run out of riva, and now that i know what the 4770 is capable of, i want more.

currently, CCC only allows 830 core and 850 memory clocks as maximums.
i hear asus top bios for the 4770 makes these maxiumums mugh higher (1000/1200). now i know i cant run at those maxiumums, but it would allow me to tune 2x 4770s over 850/950

and since CCC is so user friendly, i would like to keep that as my oc tool.

I did however read into the gpu tool, but i didnt like what i read.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: video card bios flash.

How could you not like what you read? It's the successor to atitool!
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 11:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: video card bios flash.

guru, i must have read the wrong article, i read about something that was released pre nvidia 6000 series.

im will indeed try out this tool you suggested and report back.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 09:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: video card bios flash.

This is what I use but I don't know if it works with ATI cards.
EVGA Precision 1.7.1 download from Guru3D.com
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 09:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: video card bios flash.

I was going to flash my 8800gs to a asus TOP version but i couldn't since the xfx card i had would not flash to the asus since they were slightly different cards. Usually people don't have problems when doing things like . this but you always do it at your own risk, luckily you have got x58 so just grab sum really old pci-3 card if you have got one lying arounf and you can flash the bios back iif its fails, just make sure you make a backup which can be done with some bios software in windows.It seems on the asus TOP with asus smart doctor u can adjust the voltage with would be great for some hugh overclcoks.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade video card of old desktop PC. techGuy System Upgrades 27 01-27-2009 08:30 AM
Video Card Help Maleek System Upgrades 10 01-11-2009 03:11 AM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
Video Card Power Feeback? Lord Zeon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 07:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.