video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default video card

if i have an onboard video card and want to get a 9800 pro ( or any other card) can i do this without changing my motherboard?

thanks in advance
__________________

guess123 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 08:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Yes yes you can.
Just plug the 9800 into the apg slot and it will automanically disable your video. However, if it does not you can alwasy go into the bios and where it says video=on/off put it on off and you should have no problems
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

k thanks so it should be no problem? can it work on any motherboard...and can i put any new video card on my motherboard which already has onboard video????
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

i don't know what you mean by "can it work on any motherboard".

anyway, you can add a new video card to any modern motherboard despite the onboard video or not.
subdivizion is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

It should fit onto your mobo as long as it has an agp slot. if it does not you will have no where to put it in but if you do you will have no probs
-cheers-
XT is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

ok thanks alot ...can u just tell me if this cpu is alright for games?

P4

2.66 GHz 800mb fsb

160 gb hard drive

512 ddr ram

and a new video card..possibly 9800 pro ( which i will add on to my motherboard soon)

TY
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

how can you determine if u have an agp slot???

if i dont then...i have to get a new mobo .....and i need to know what kind of mobo is compatible with new video cards...P4 2.66 ghz ...preferably an asus mobo

sry for all the noob questions...
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

no worries your here to learn. just gimme the specs of the mobo.
The agp slot is above all your pci slots and looks differn't its normally balck while pci slots are white. its the only differn't slot out of the group.
just gimme specs of that mobo
XT is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

k i will tell u the specs soon gotta find themm...but what would u say is the best vd card for a fair amout of money right now

something to fulfil most gaming needs and doesnt cost too much ??
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

saphire 9600pro 256mb oem = 151$ canadian
saphire 9600xt 128mb retail 278$ canadian
prices from www.ncix.com
__________________

XT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.