video capture problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tadpolefoder
Default video capture problem

hey, i just bought a tv capture card for my pc. its working fine, but when I try to record video, i always seem to lose a considerable amount of frames per second. wat are the best choices for such a slow computer (pentium ii 333 mhz) for:

-format (mpeg1, avi, divx, etc.)
-color space / compression (RGB 555, YUY2, UVYW, etc.)

i dont care about the space it requires (new 160 gb external drive), i just wanna get the best quality/fps i can
__________________

tadpolefoder is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

dvix
__________________

__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You should capture in uncompressed (raw) format and compress after you finished capturing the video.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tadpolefoder
Default

uncompressed meaning avi...?.... or would divx be better?
tadpolefoder is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Kind of in the wrong section. I'm not sure if your computer will be able to even handle that type of recording.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tadpolefoder
uncompressed meaning avi...?.... or would divx be better?
Uncompressed recording will create huge files, but the advantage is it won't use up all your CPU cycles, it just uses the HD a lot to write the uncompressed video data. This way it shouldn't skip frames anymore.
Uncompressed video can be saved as AVI or other file formats (don't know exactly). Divx is a codec, so if you select Divx it will compress the video, so you could loose frames. The best thing to do is try different settings (uncompressed if available or DivX or Xvid or MPEG, etc) and see if one of them results in smooth video recording.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.