Video - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2004, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default Video

i can get any of these video cards on my pc...and i dont want to spend over 200 ...any recomendations?

Geforce2, Geforce2 MX, Geforce2 MX200/MX400
Geforce2 ultra/Pro/GTS/Ti
Geforce3/Ti200/Ti500
Geforce4-ALL
ATI Radeon DDR
ATI Radeon 7000/7200/7500/8500/8500LE/9000/9500/9700
ATI ALL-IN-WONDER Radeon/ALL
__________________

guess123 is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

9700 pro
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

are the Geforce 4's any good ?
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

The GeForce4 Ti4600 is good but the 9700 is even better. It's the best one in the list.
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 02:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

In reference to your other post about PCI and AGP slots, the 9700 does not come in a PCI version and I dont know about the other Radeon versions either although you could check. Also, the All-In-Wonders are generally slower than their regular counterparts except for the AIW9700. But unless you want TV tuner features, just stick with the regular ones to save some money.
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 03:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

go with a 9700 pro
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 06:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

Out of that list go with the 9700pro.
Why can't you use a GeforceFX or any of the 9800 series?
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 10:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

my mobo can only have 1.5 V video cards so that is why i can only have those
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 10:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

But im sure my card runs at 1.5v, what AGP will your board support? 8x??
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 10:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

it will run at 2x.4x.8x i am pretty sure

if a card runs at 8x does it mean that it is 1.5v?

how do i know which caard is 1.5 v?
__________________

guess123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.