Vid card running hot like heck - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Vid card running hot like heck

Ok, so I'm playing Cal of Duty 2 on my 6600GT, and it just all the sudden freezes, an I can't do anything... so i touch the vid card heatsink and it burns like crap. I mean, it's been getting hot here, like 80F-90F, but i have the side panel off for better cooling, and i even put a huge desk fan to blow right into it, but it keeps freezing. I just turn on the computer, run COD2 for like 5-10 minutes and it just freezes. I tried taking down the detal, but still
This has never happened before...
Can anyone guess what could be wrong, i mean the only thng changed was the drivers,i got the new ones, but that's it...

thanx!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

um let me think better hs vf900
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

did u overclock it? if not, i dont know what to say, even tho i had the 6600gt
Travis18 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, do you have exact temp reads? pop a second monitor on the system, and have a monitoring app running while you are gaming on the second monitor, then you can see what temp it is when if freezes.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

6600's are like a frigin furnace. Those temps aren't overheating for a 6600. They can get around 120*C I do believe.

However, it is pretty hot. Get a zalman vf700, or vf900 if you can.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

before buying an expensive hsf, pop off ur old one... the thermal paste/pad may be fried/non-existent. u might just need some artic silver 5 to get things back in check.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
6600's are like a frigin furnace. Those temps aren't overheating for a 6600. They can get around 120*C I do believe.
Most GPU's can take that temps when they start to slow down.

Check to see that the wimpy stock fan is spinning at least . Dust, wires, anything getting caught and/or blocking or obstructing airflow.

Quote:
before buying an expensive hsf, pop off ur old one... the thermal paste/pad may be fried/non-existent. u might just need some artic silver 5 to get things back in check.
I gotta agree :classic:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

the vid card is not overclocked, and the heatsink is one of those big ones with the twisting vents and stuff, and it's made of copper. I even tried to stick another fan under it, but that doesnt' seem to do anything.

As for the temp, i don't know how to check that... i tried getting everest home, and click on the sensor thing, and it doesn't give the vid card temp, it only gives the HD, CPU, and Mobo..
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

do you have NVidia Monitor?
under nvidia corporation
reckliss is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Must be getting extremly hot... I had a eVGA 6600GT and the heatsink poped off and the idle temps hit at around 100C, much higher than that at load and it never froze... just artifacts
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.