VGA Overheat - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 06:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

and GPU can withstand temps up to 100C but keep it lower then 80C
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i had the same problem with my 9800 Pro overheating, especially in Quake 4 and Fear. it was so bad it froze and gave me artifacts when playing even on the stock speeds. i replaced the heatsink and now it works real sweet.

__________________

punk_skater_9 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 06:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Not all 6600GT's have temp monitors out of the box.

As mentioned by 905it don't just assume it's your GPU and then go and spend loads on a cooler that may not solve the problem atall.

Seems odd that it's just started to happen. Have you checked that your GPU fan is still working? Maybe even your CPU or RAM are overheating?
Dust build up over time will cause overheating, so are you sure your fans just aren't clogging up?
Have you changed any drivers lately?

So before you go out and start spending money just be sure you're sure what the problem is!

Good luck
__________________
Athlon 64 3000 E6 Venice @2.43Ghz
Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler
ASRock 939 Dual SATA2 Bios 1.20
2x512mb Corsair VS @DDR348 1T
XFX 6800GT PCI-E @400/1100
Maxtor 120Gb SATA
Antec TruePower 550W
Silver Shamrock is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 08:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

All 6600GTs come with a temp probe, some companys choose to disable the option in the videocards BIOS, you will have to flash the bios with an edited one in order to enable it.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

why the hell would they want to do that?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

clean out the dust
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 03:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
clean out the dust
Yes that has been suggested already.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3000 E6 Venice @2.43Ghz
Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler
ASRock 939 Dual SATA2 Bios 1.20
2x512mb Corsair VS @DDR348 1T
XFX 6800GT PCI-E @400/1100
Maxtor 120Gb SATA
Antec TruePower 550W
Silver Shamrock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.