very strange... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2007, 02:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

boo yah! i got it stable this time (yes, i can run BF2, and any other program, even CCC.)

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/5285/4ghzft2.jpg

perfectttt!!
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 02:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Orthos 8+ hours.

Do it now.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 03:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
I want to try to reach 4 ghz, but am scared to fry the mobo, i only had it for 2 days... what more would I need to try to get to 4ghz STABLE
Your not going to fry the motherboard.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 10:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

sorry, this is my first OC.... im a noobie ._.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

wow... run super pi.... you'll get first 1st place

*edit*

i thought you had an e6600..... my bad...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 12:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

There's a couple bad things that can happen while OC'ing. Since I don't believe you bothered to look them up, here it is:

While just upping the FSB, here's a few bad things:

1. The increased FSB can sometimes cause data corruption on your HDD if the other clocks aren't locked.

2. You can up the PCI bus frequency if the clocks are synced to the FSB, which is bad (might fry your video card).

3. Your RAM is running at a frequency that it can no longer handle, so it does not POST. This is really no big deal, but you have to reset the BIOS and start your over clock all over again.

4. Your CPU runs at a frequency that it can no longer handle, and does not POST. Same as the RAM, just reset the BIOS.

5. Your CPU gets too hot which may cause further problems. This probably won't happen unless you have terrible cooling, as simply upping the FSB usually doesn't alter the temps too much.

If you screw with the voltages too, you CAN permanently damage your CPU, or completely fry it. I think 1.8 is the drop-dead zone for AMD A64 chips, but almost all chips are around that (look it up to be sure).


Seriously, if you want a good over clock where nothing goes wrong, research first. Then research some more. Then when you think you know what you're doing, read some more.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 11:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I wouldn't put my Athlon over 1.6V.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

lol, my Athlon Xp is 1.632 stock. I havent been overclocking because my computer always seems to restart when its overclocked in SP2, Weird hmm anyway

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:38 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea but Athlon XP's operate at a higher stock voltage.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 02:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 321
Default

Don't mean to ask a question in your thread, but am I right in assuming that when you push the volts when OC'ing, the only thing you can fry is your processor? And what is the tell tale sign that you have fried the processor? I just want to make sure that as I push the limits of my machine, the worst I can do is fry my E6600.

And also, when you talk about using 2 psu's, does that somehow make overclocking more effective/stable??

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i
C2 Q6600 @3.6
2- 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1000(1100 @5-5-5-12 2.2v)
2 EVGA 280GTX in sli
2 WD Raptor 74GB(RAID0)
1 WD Raptor 150GB
X-FI Fatal1ty Edition (Beyerdynamic DT770/80 with PA2v2 amp)
PC P&C 1 Kilowatt PSU
Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD
LG 18x DVD/CD RW
Silverstone TJ09 (5-120mm Sythe S-Flex fans)-Best case on the planet...
Watercooled. Iwaki MD20RLT>PA120.3(6 fan push/pull)>Apogee GT>2 MCW60's>T-line
waytoosmall is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.