very strange... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default very strange...



3.75 ghz @ 1.45 Volts + 0.1 extra on FSB (does that help, I'd imgine it would help the NB and SB), and its still under 55C... on my old motherboard, On normal settings it would be this hot, is it a misread, or the truth, and the fans aren't spinning like crazy, so I don't know...

Intel 530J + rosewill z2 + GIGABYTE p965-ds3 (rev 2.0)+ 550WATT Logysis PSU

runs so smooth too...

I want to try to reach 4 ghz, but am scared to fry the mobo, i only had it for 2 days... what more would I need to try to get to 4ghz STABLE
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

So you are ocing in windows?? that is no good unless you are doing suicide runs like nosboost Use bios to do regular ocing.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

eh... this is easier, and I put in three more fans, on normal everything, it is all the way down to 35º on cpu and case
wow, a LOT of improvement
but this Oc'ing proggy works like a charm
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psp_crazy1
eh... this is easier, and I put in three more fans, on normal everything, it is all the way down to 35º on cpu and case
wow, a LOT of improvement
but this Oc'ing proggy works like a charm
Ya, did you ever think thats it not as fast as its telling you?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

um... yes it is.... ichecked in CPU-z and in DMIview, it is....

and i hit 4ghz, what do you think the max voltage is even if the temps are low,

( http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/5899/4ghzkw6.jpg )

^ it was stable, but not enough to start up BF2, im scared to volt higher, should i work on the FSB voltage more then??? it only lets me to .3 + voltage on the FSB, and the reg. voltage on the RAM is 1.8, on the CPU, 1.38. how much higher cpu voltage than ^ can i go
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It was stable? But you can't start up BF2........
lollololol.

Listen, something is only stable if you can use the computer as you would normally. Every day normal use.
Without Crashes, lagh, errors, blue screens. You name it.

Unless of course you like things to work incorrectly really fast.

Yea, I could OC my 4600 Past 2.70 GHz, but it wouldn't be every day normal use stable. Id Get a BSOD after about a day or so.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

well i guess its not stable then :P

but how much farther can i raise the Volts (i have like 5 fans, 1 dvd burner, 1 hdd (SATA), logysis 550watt (400watt, 550 max output.), x1600pro, 2x 512 MB corsair XMS5400c, intel p4 530j)
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

That Logysis PSU is scaring the crap out of Me...
You can only hope its not your limiting factor.

You can up the Volts as high as it can go.
So long as:
Its POSTs.
Its TRUELY Stable.
And you don't smell anything werid.

Just remember to take it slow and allow 8 or more hours of Prime 95 or OCCT testing before going on.

1-2 weeks of normal every day use will determine if a OC is truely stable.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 12:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

I really don't want to use it at 4.0 GHZ every day... Just maybe if a game is being really retarded and use these settings, and yea i got 15 dollars right now, end of my nine weeks in school is near, hopefully 20 $$ there, I want to get a psu, btw is there a way i can use 2 psu's at once, I have an extra 400 and 350 WATT psu.

EDIT: yeah, I know what a burning smell is like, yesterday my cd burner (generic, pretty old anf got it used years ago....) burnt out... scared the crap out of me, thought it was my mobo.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 01:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

ok, I'm reading a way to put in 2 PSU's at once, is it worth it to use 2 400WATT psu's?

well, I went onto this ( http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine) page, did all the calculations i need 411 WATTS to go to 4.0 Ghz with 1.51 Vcore (might need more than that, stock is 1.38)
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.