Very bad problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 10:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default Very bad problem

OK...put together a computer for my friend (i know what im doing ive built 3 computers before). So i get it all together and....when i turn on the power the light on the motherboard comes on but nothing else powers up...so i thought perhaps the 24 pin connecter from the power supply was messed up so i jumped the green and black wires together and what do ya know everything powers up fans and all except for of course the motherboard...when i plug the connecter back in...nothing works...only the light on the motherboard comes on...i donno what to do!
Any advice would be awesome...
thanks
__________________

__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Hmmmm - Make sure the extra P4 connector is plugged in, basics, things like that..reset the CMOS, chances are you might have done this already.

Might not have been good to give power to your HD without it being hooked up to the motherboard though if you left those hooked while you crossed those wires to let the PSU turn on.

Ummm.....reseat graphics card and RAM, if those don't do it, try reseating the CPU.

If all else fails, take the mobo out of the case, lay it on a cardboard box, make sure the case is nearby so you can hook up the PC speaker.

Leave only CPU, one RAM stick, graphics card and keyboar plugged in.

Pull out RAM, see if the computer gives you a beep code, if it does try reseating the RAM, if it still doesn't boot then the RAM could be the problem.

Same thing applies to the graphics card, just follow the above steps.

Good luck
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

ok thx ima go c right now
__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Aright, best of luck man, I've been in plenty of those situations, no fun at all
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

ATX power supplies shouldn't even turn on if you don't have them connected to a motherboard...

You should try replacing the PSU with a different one as it sounds like it's the source.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

i have no idea....nubius i tried everything u told me to try and.....nothing gaara..ive tried replaicng the power suppl with anotherone i had laying around that i know works...still nothing...
__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
ATX power supplies shouldn't even turn on if you don't have them connected to a motherboard...
Gaara - He did a little trick that allows you to turn on the PSU without it being connected to the mobo. As he said in his post he connected the green and black wire (theres a specific two wires one black, on green that you connect).

I made a "test PSU' out of an old 120w, but cutting those wires and connecting them together specifically to test fans and whatnot.


Quote:
i have no idea....nubius i tried everything u told me to try and.....nothing
All I can say next is try the RAM and video card in a known computer if you can because it's starting to sound like a CPU or mobo problem. If you can test either of those by swapping em with a good system that's also your best bet
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

ok man thx...well im aggrivated with it now but..ima look into that some more tommorow...if that doesnt work...i might have to bring it to those dumbasses at the computer shop and c wut they think...
__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 05:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

Ok at htis point i am really really f*cking aggrivated with this thing...tommorow...it goes to the shop...nubius thanks for trying man i appreciate it..
__________________
Alienware
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
6800GT graphics card
200 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
1 Gig of Corsair Ram
BRUCEG is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No problem dude, sucks you couldn't get it to work for ya

You tried putting the RAM and graphics card in your computer to atleast rule out the possibilities of it being those? Because then you're just left with either the CPU or mobo being bunk which a quick RMA could fix
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.