Vdimm - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2005, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default Vdimm

I got some Geil value ram and i can get it to 2.5-3-3-6@238fsb 1:1
with it at 2.8vdimm (recomended 2.65-2.85) how much further can i take it and what will i get out of pushing the vdimm
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I don't know man, every RAM is different. We couldn't possibly tell you how much further you could take it, that's up to you to find out.

The Vdimm adds more stability for the RAM on it's higher clocks, same principle as the CPU, faster speeds = needs more voltage.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

will i risk melting it though?
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol no, not unless you're hitting 3v and up, even then as you can see from that 'Ridiculously high RAM OC' thread I created, that dude has 4v on it.

They can take quite a bit contrary to popular belief.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 05:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

o so i really don't have to worry that much about vdimm so long as i were to keep under 3.5?
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No, didn't say that, 3.5v is really high and more than likely your RAM wouldn't last real long under those kind of loads. If infact your geil is TCCD chips, there's no point in going above 2.9 on yours as it was the BH-5 chips that wanted lots of voltage for those higher clocks. That's what that guys 4v dimm RAM is I believe.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.