VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2007, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

I am using a Hiper PSU.. somethin' like 580 Watts I believe? Anywho, it's using a 4 pin power connector. If I bought a higher end PSU will it allow me to raise my vcior above 1.41? Right now I have it set to 1.4500 and BIOS reports only 1.41 (no stepping or anything is on)
__________________

Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

vdroop from heck?
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

No lol, I don;t believe vdroop is on the Striker Extreme as it's not exactly overclocker friendly feature and it's an overclocking board...
Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

what FSB are you at
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

1500 Rated FSB or 375 x 9 equating to 3375MHz
Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

have you tried a 1.5xx vcore?

there might be a vcore hole in there.

are you running the latest BIOS flash?
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

Yeah, but I think that may even be the problem. I can;t get higher FSBs on stock voltage like I could on the last version..

Also didn;t know there was such a thing, I will try it.

Edit: Tried it! There was a .5v gap there, so I had to raise it to 1.5v in order to get it to read 1.45. Now it's at 1.45 with 400 x 9 and is running cool and smoothly. Going to try and get to 4.0. (Idle at 33 load at 40*C :-p)

Edit 2: Okay, vcore riding at about 1.61. FSB is 431.3 x 9 = 3881.3MHz. Load for this hits 50*C so I don't want to push it further.. but I was able to get to 4.0 and boot ^^ But once I saw 52*C I shut down...

RAM:FSB is in "Sync Mode" with timings on Auto. The Striker is implementing 4-4-4-12 which seems to be working well. (RAM loads at 31*C) Any suggestions to get the clock higher on the CPU and possibly lower the temps? I've never touched the multiplier before so i don't know how that will affect stability and temps..
Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinator View Post
I am using a Hiper PSU.. somethin' like 580 Watts I believe? Anywho, it's using a 4 pin power connector. If I bought a higher end PSU will it allow me to raise my vcior above 1.41? Right now I have it set to 1.4500 and BIOS reports only 1.41 (no stepping or anything is on)
voltage readings are not always accurate
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: VCore won't go above 1.41v?? Is it my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinator View Post
Yeah, but I think that may even be the problem. I can;t get higher FSBs on stock voltage like I could on the last version..

Also didn;t know there was such a thing, I will try it.

Edit: Tried it! There was a .5v gap there, so I had to raise it to 1.5v in order to get it to read 1.45. Now it's at 1.45 with 400 x 9 and is running cool and smoothly. Going to try and get to 4.0. (Idle at 33 load at 40*C :-p)

Edit 2: Okay, vcore riding at about 1.61. FSB is 431.3 x 9 = 3881.3MHz. Load for this hits 50*C so I don't want to push it further.. but I was able to get to 4.0 and boot ^^ But once I saw 52*C I shut down...

RAM:FSB is in "Sync Mode" with timings on Auto. The Striker is implementing 4-4-4-12 which seems to be working well. (RAM loads at 31*C) Any suggestions to get the clock higher on the CPU and possibly lower the temps? I've never touched the multiplier before so i don't know how that will affect stability and temps..
i wouldnt worry about temps till you get over 65*C
you can monitor VCore in speedfan. as CPU-Z isnt always the most accurate.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Pitched Screech from PSU on first boot Sardonic New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-08-2007 05:39 PM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM
huH? PSU huH? SHaTTaFaKKaP New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-06-2007 08:48 AM
FSB, Speed, and VCore relationship pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-29-2007 11:59 AM
fluctuating vcore lazer_viking Overclocking and Modding 5 06-03-2007 06:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.