Valueram rox!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 05:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

spam^^^

I have a value ram r0x0ring story

Parents have PC2700 kingston ram 2.5-2-2-7
Made it run PC3200 3-3-3-8 without overvolting.

This is kingston's cheapest ram as well
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Dude, your running PC2700 speeds lol. Thats considered normal. Dont be surprised man. Value RAM cant handle true OC abuse. You can tighten the timings, then lack speed. Or loose the already loosend timings and gain some speed. But honestly for 100% OC results, you dont want to sacrifice anything. I suggest keeping PC3200 and OC it as far as possible. For a 100% result.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

well, i can OC this ram pretty good w/ out losing my kick as timings. iono why but this ram is good. were gona find out from sandra which is better, 2700 or 3200 w/ loose timings.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'm laying down $100 on the PC3200 pony

like I said the difference between a ras to cas and ras precharge of 3 going down to 2 is way too small of a bandwidth increase to counter the massive drop in frequency.

My guess is you get 3000/2800 in PC3200 and 2700/2500 with your tigher timed PC2700
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I dont think you fully understand dude. The LAST thing you want to do with OC RAM, is to lower its speed yo..
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

its value ram though. and yes i fully understand, but you gotta understand that my cpu is gonna run better cause it has an fsb of 333. but we wil see what runs faster from sandra. im pretty sure running the cpu at 2.3 and the ram at 3200 is AY faster.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ahh, well yeah your system is going to run better with PC2700 lol, now you have a 1:1 ratio....but still any valueRAM will do that, and generally without and raising of voltage.

Use CPU-Z and check the SPD tab, that tells you what timings it'll run under different speeds.

You basically cleaned up a bottleneck so that will help for your computer improvement, but yeah as far as a sandra test go using the memory test, the PC3200 will undoubtedly win
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 10:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

the spd lies man, it says 2.5-3-3-8 for 200mhx frequency and that is not true. i was runing it at 3200 w/ 2.5-2-2-5 fpr the longest time. ran fine so yea, and that is the only ones it shows. as far as sandra and bottleneck your prolly right. but i was running a 1:1 ratio before, well at least thats what cpu-z said.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 10:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

im happy with my geil value ram its doing ddr460 2.5-3-3-5-1
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

whats up w/ the extra #?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.