Valueram rox!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2005, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Talking Valueram rox!!

Now everybody here knows im a fan of value ram right? well heres the deal, my sig is now wrong w/ my cas latencies!! im now running my cas at 2-2-2-5 running 2.7 volts! freakin sweet!! heres some cpu-z
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...uire/CPU-z.jpg
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ok? Well assuming it is PC3200 RAM you've got it running at PC2700 speeds, so of course it'd run tighter timings. You lost a ton of bandwidth going from PC3200 to PC2700 even with tighter timings
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

but i actually gained alot of speed. its running smoother and faster.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

memory bench it in sandra at your speed now, and then your PC3200 speed and you probably will have lost like 300mb/sec

It's not even possible for it to be running better lol, the ras to cas and ras precharge going from 3 to 2, don't have enough impact to negate that massive drop in frequency
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if i drop down to pc2700, i can get 2.5-3-3-7/8 on my crappy geil ram

yay!

corsair is the best value ram, but it's easy to get tight timings with ddr333
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

i think its better only cause i dropped the cpu down from 2.3. lol, goes to show its not that stable after all. where can i get sandra?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=177

run stock ddr400 and then run 2-2-2-5 ddr333

i'm almost positive the ddr400 will be better
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Holy fcuk!
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 01:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

alrighty thanx alot. ill do a benchie as soon as i get home (cause im at school right now lol) and post my results.
Quote:
Holy fcuk!
hahaa ok?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 04:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default

ValueRAM ROX! I got a ECC REG 1GB Kit on eBay right now.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MESE%3AIT&rd=1
__________________

B-dizzle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.