Vaccum Cooling? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 07:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

guys can u explain this to me.
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...0012/temps.jpg

Im running a intel p4 2.0 oc'd to 2.5 with a zalman cnps7700cu heatsink/fan its a northwood chip too. if thats any help. my temps are constantly below 10 unless i stress it with bf2,hl2,doom 3 and so on. but idle its around there and even lower. i was thinking it may be an error with my mobo but i tried it in three other mobo's and tried more then one p4 chip like mine and got these temps.
__________________

Maxx is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

One of four things:

1. Your sensor is messed up

2. The image is faked

3. You have your computer in some cold enviroment (which would be a REALLY bad idea due to condensation) as the air temp in the case cannot be lower than the ambient temp in the room.

4. You are really using something else to cool (phase change, peltier) and not the Zalman

That's my story and I'm stickin' to it! lol
__________________

bryan64 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to ace418
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bryan64
One of four things:

1. Your sensor is messed up

2. The image is faked

3. You have your computer in some cold enviroment (which would be a REALLY bad idea due to condensation) as the air temp in the case cannot be lower than the ambient temp in the room.

4. You are really using something else to cool (phase change, peltier) and not the Zalman

That's my story and I'm stickin' to it! lol

We can rule out number three because his motherboard temperature would not be 30 degrees higher than the processor if the air temperature was cold. if they were both that low then maybe, but not with such a big difference.
ace418 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

True I missed that!!
bryan64 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Can you prove that it is running at them temps while its not being underclocked??? The only time I have seen a cpu that is below ambient temp is where an AC unit is blowing directly onto the HSF with a duct mod... And even then I couldn't get that low.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 06:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I haven't really concidered my fan setup too much.

I have two 80mm fans sucking low front, one 80mm blowing out top and one 80mm blowing high back, also the PSU blows.

Could I reconfigure this more effectively?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

That is the best set up, especially with a fan on the top, and no side panel one.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.