V-Link?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default V-Link??

I have an ASRock K7VT4A+ mobo and I was reading through the manual and in the bios settings I can change the 'V-Link Speed'. It doesn't give an explanation in the manual or anywhere. Anybody heard of/used this before???
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default

V-link speed has something to do with wireless internet
thats all i know, so if you dont use wireless then u probably dont need to worry
__________________

ak_smallz is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Well the motherboard doesn't have any integrated wireless anything with it so I don't see why it would have that optioni...
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 12:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default

maybe it has the option so if you ever decide to use a v-link wireless adapter you could change it. But I would maybe check up more on it.
COMPUTE_THIS16 is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I don't know what all this talk about wireless adapter is all about. It has nothing to do with that. The vlink is the connection between the northbridge and the southbridge and the speed is the speed at witch they communicate (northbridge to southbridge). Here is a link explaining some of this from via http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/ch...t8237/vmap.jsp

Generally you should just leave this setting alone as the impact on your performance shouldn't change at all and your system won't benefit much from changing this. I have an asrock motherboard aswell and changing the vlink speed to fast renders my board unbootable (my board has no wireless adapter). Anyways. Hope that info helps.
captbaldo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.