Using a BAR FRIDGE for Cooling and Storing a Six Pack - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 07:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Using a BAR FRIDGE for Cooling and Storing a Six Pack

During SWG guild chat tonight, we were talking about PC Modding and Over Clocking.

We where also talking about the fridge is a little too far way for when we want to grab a beer.

Now the question is this..... what would I need to do in order to convert a bar fidge into a CPU cooling system.

And so I can store a six pack in side for when I am gaming.

Like is this some thing that is do-able?
Or should I STFU?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i have come across a log by someone who has done this before, i'll see if i can find it.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I definately thought of this and I also took some action. I do not have a barfridge so I took another initiative.

I took some icepacks and stuffed it into a canister, I put enough space for air to come in and a fan on the other side so cold air would come out. This was put into 2 empty Disk Bays.

My results were that my CPU temperatures lowered by 2 degrees and case temperature lowered by 6.

Its not a big improvement, and you have to watch out for water leaking.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The easiest way to do this IMO would be to invest in a water loop...drill two holes in the side of fridge and run your radiator, pump and reservoir inside the fridge...I think all you would need for that would be some dielectric grease for thermal compund and possibly neoprene rubber

The more efficent use of the mini fridge would be to salvage parts for a phase change setup...however they gets much more complicated and you wouldn't be able to keep your beer in it without freezing your hand in the process of getting it

A third solution would be to invest in a peltier and incoporate it into an existing loop...this requires much less easier condensation protection methods and still keeps temperatures relatively cold

Obviously you could also insert your entire PC into the existing fridge however they would require much more condensation protection for all of the motherboard circuits
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 01:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to trigger_sad
Default

This has been discussed numerous times in many forums. Almost every time it's been tested and found that a bar fridge is simply not a good cooling solution. The constant heat given off by the waterloop inside the fridge will cause the fridge to run constantly (unlike its regular state of cooling, shutting off, cooling, shutting off, where the cooling part is shorter than the off), so you will kill the fridge by trying this.
trigger_sad is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by trigger_sad
so you will kill the fridge by trying this.
Thankfully the TRADING POST aways has asome one that is giving away a free Bar Fridge.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

i was thinking about doing like gaara said after i get wc and putting the wc parts in there and drill holes in the fridge and case to go in. i think that would be a great idea and would cool the water quite a bit if done right...
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Been looking at from work logs online, and at this stage using the fridge for the resoware (spelling) and using it with water cooling seems to be the best option.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 04:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well first of all a 6 pack blows lol and second of all u need something to atleast store a 18 pack if ya tryin ta get all crunk and have sniping issues lol just bring a full size fridge and put ur pc in it and the 18 pack with a 6 pack to
burned-ati is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 11:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

how about the wires leavign the fridge. how can this be solved.

maybe make a hope in the door, then put the necesarry wires in it and then use somethign to seal the holes so no air comes out.
__________________

Sashatheman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.