Urgent RAID Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2007, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Urgent RAID Question

I recieved my new drive, and since this is my first time setting up RAID, I didn;t know what to expect. I enabled RAID controller on my board and enabled it for SATA ports 1 and 2 (my two HDDs)

Question is, there were multiple options for the array type. I was expecting RAID0, 1, 0+1, 5, and JBOD, but I had to choose from Spectrum (or something like that), Stripe, Mirror and Strip Mirror. There may have been one more option.. idk. The first one showed up as a JBOD array which I don't want, I'm shooting for RAID 0. So I chose Stripe mode since Mirror showed both drives together totaling 160GB, so obviously that's not what I want, plus the name is self explanitory.

Anyways, I bleieve I have it set up properly in RAID 0, but it shows Stripe under the RAID utility on my mobo.

NVM, should have checked Wiki BEFORE searching. lol.

BTW: I'm LOVING Vista.. I used it before, but not like this. Aero is pretty sweet, it's running WAY faster then my XP ever did, even at fresh install. Plus the text and pictures are so **** clear... Can't wait to play my games at DX10 levels.

Alexinator is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
TheOtis's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Urgent RAID Question

Glad to hear Vista's working out for you so well.

I was surprised myself with how zippy Vista was when you install it. And really, it stays pretty zippy aslong as you don't load it up with junk.

Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Urgent RAID Question

Pre-loading apps is the best idea ever. It is so quick to zip around. Literally by the end of my second click on the Trillian Icon, it was already logging into my accounts.

And with RAID0, it took a good 20 minutes to install Vista, from a fresh formated install.
Alexinator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 10:26 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 04:19 PM
Question on raid 1? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-15-2007 02:15 PM
RAID question Goped79 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-25-2007 10:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.