Upgrading Video Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Upgrading Video Cards

My video card is an NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT. The only thing that I don't really like is how you have to have a power supply cable going directly to it and it can't share the power supply cable with anything else.

My question is this. Would it be better and make my computer faster if in the future I updated my video card and got a new better one, or would it be better for me to get another one that is the same and get dual video cards?
__________________

Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Dude, you have one of the fastest cards out, so i think your computer is at its fastest lol. faster than mine...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

It will be better if you upgrade to the G70 when it hits this fall then to get a second 6800 GT. SLI is unstable because of bugs. The G70 should equal current SLI performance or beat it with just one card. Your 6800GT should get you much farther though being that is has Pixel Shader 3.0. The future of gaming is all about PS3.0, so your card should get you another year or two of playing games on max settings.

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Dude, you have one of the fastest cards out, so i think your computer is at its fastest lol. faster than mine...
Yeah, I too would love to have a card like that....be thankful for it.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

err...

what power supply do you have
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Haha... I know it is good, I was just wondering for future references (far future) what would be best.

I have a 500 watt power supply, but if you are wondering that because I have to have a cable connected directly to it, I do not know why. That is what it said in the instructions booklet, and when I checked online, it said the same thing.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you should have one connected to it for stability

btw, what brand is your psu
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Not sure...it came with my computer case. How do I find it?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

It should be posted on the box that your case came in. Like you kept that. find your case on the Web, and it'll tell you what PSU it comes w/.

Anyways, you shouldn't ask now; you should be having fun w/ that quick new card of yours. You should ask in 2 years or whenever your gunna get your new card. Not critizing or anything, in 2 years anything could happen. AMD could rule the world for that matter.

Have fun w/ your new card!
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 09:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah, ask in two years, I know...but hey, I got curious when I noticed the other day that some Alienware computers came with dual video cards. Kinda made me wonder how much better dual video cards really are when you compare them to having one really good video card.

Still can't find the power supply make...unless it is the same company that made the case, which would make sense. But here is the link to what my case is: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144089
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 09:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

What's the problem, your card consumes more power than the AGP/PCI-E can feed it so it has to get power from an alternative source. It's only one molex connector mate...
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.