Upgrading my Setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2004, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default Upgrading my Setup

Hey I was wondering about upgrading my current computer. I'm going to get a new case, but I want a cheap one I can mod, (fans, window...). Was wondering if anyone could give me any good ones from newegg.

My theory is that if I get a new motherboard (currently stuck with a obviously locked dell motherboard), I can overclock my Northwood 2.66ghz to a more recent speed of 3.06ghz. The problem is that I don't have the money to get new memory, would a single stick of DIMM work on a Dual Channel motherboard such as this one?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-185&depa=1

Comments are appreciated.
__________________

__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default Re: Upgrading my Setup

Quote:
Originally posted by mdshort
Hey I was wondering about upgrading my current computer. I'm going to get a new case, but I want a cheap one I can mod, (fans, window...). Was wondering if anyone could give me any good ones from newegg.

My theory is that if I get a new motherboard (currently stuck with a obviously locked dell motherboard), I can overclock my Northwood 2.66ghz to a more recent speed of 3.06ghz. The problem is that I don't have the money to get new memory, would a single stick of DIMM work on a Dual Channel motherboard such as this one?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-185&depa=1

Comments are appreciated.
If you want cool mods I urge you to check out Xoxide.
www.xoxide.com

That site is dedicated to modifications...
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Question Thanks

Thanks for the mod site, I like how it gives good discriptions of each product.

Does anyone know about my second question ? :up:
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

yes 1 stick will work on a dual channel mobo.
chog is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Ah thanks, thats just what I needed. Should I buy that Gigabyte board or just wait for PCI Express?
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.