Upgrading my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2004, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to btd450
Default Upgrading my computer

I currently have a pretty crappy computer, and just want to upgrade it enough to be able to play some of the current graphically enhanced games. I am kind of held back because of a $500 max spending limit.d

My current specs:

Intel P4 2Ghz
512MB RAM
Intel Integrated graphics
Windows XP Home SP2

I know that I want a Radeon X700 Pro, which means that I will have to upgrade my motherboard, and possibly my processor and RAM.....That is what I am wondering about. The Processor and RAM are what I am concerned about. I am thinking that they might be too out dated, and I may not be able to upgrade for only $500.

I was thinking about the Intel Desktop Board D925XECV2/D925XEBC2 for my new motherboard. If I were to use the D925XECV2, I would have to upgrade my case, but I am probably going to upgrade my power supply anyway, so I figured I might as well do the case as well. BTW, what size power supply do you think I will need?

For one, the 2Ghz processor requires an mPGA478 socket, but the newer motherboards with PCI Express (needed for the X700 pro) have an LGA775 socket. Will I be able to just transfer the processor, or will I have to get a new one?

Also, the ram is just 184-pin DDR SDRAM. The newer motherboards have 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM sockets. I am assuming that I wont be able to just trasfer the current RAM, and just add 512 more. Will I be able to use the DDR SDRAM, or will I have to go with the DDR2?

Any help and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

btd450 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

You can transport your processor if you get another socket 478 mobo. Your Video Card is an Intel Integrated graphics. That most likly means its built in your mobo, so you cant change it.

But your processor 2.0ghz 533fsb, will have alot of problems handling gaming. If you have a budget of 500$, then you cant offered a PCI Express video card, since they all run around 400+.
I suggest builting a new system, rather then spending money on your present.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to btd450
Default

The X700 pro is a PCI Express, and that Is only $200...

I don't plan On keeping my mobo, I need a new one. I just wanted to know if my processor and RAM would be compatible with the new one.
btd450 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

No you cannot transfer DDR1 into DDR2. So you will need DDR2.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to btd450
Default

Crap, that is what I was afraid of. I will have to get a new processor and RAM... I'll have to build a brand new computer....
btd450 is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Why an X700 Pro? You could get a 9800 Pro or Nvidia 6600 GT for only a tad bit more and you wouldn't have to re-build your whole computer, and still get awesome gaming performance.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 05:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Why an X700 Pro? You could get a 9800 Pro or Nvidia 6600 GT for only a tad bit more and you wouldn't have to re-build your whole computer, and still get awesome gaming performance.
As mentioned, both of these cards are much better than the x700 pro for the money. Additionally, if you wish to upgrade the processor and video card, you will most likely need a new power supply. Don't go cheap on it, get a brand-name one.
melanthius is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Why are you going for a Intel platform.
I would recommend that you wait a bit till the nForce 4 comes out and get that.
If you do decide to do that you don’t need to get new ram since the nForce 4 chipset doesn’t support DDR 2 and it can take your old memory which saves you money for a better Graphics Card.

The 6600GT is also a tad better than the X700Pro so i would recommend that you get that.

I know you will maybe need to spend a bit more to get this but i think its worth it.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to btd450
Default

X700 pro isn't better than the 9800 pro?

Could I have some benchmarks...?
__________________

btd450 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.