upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2018, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard?

so since theres really not many choices to replace that power supply in that little HP 6300 PRO
i was wondering if i upgrade to better capacitors or maybe bigger caps in PSU and motherboard will that help with anything?

i mean better grade caps at least or maybe even better specs

it definitely helps in home theather and car audio when we upgrade the capacitors in the amp or even stereo
__________________

__________________
(win 10 pro)(32gb ddr3-1600 )( HP6300 pro elite sff)(i7-377@3.40ghz)
(250gb ssd evo 860)(4 tb WD storage)(nvidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti 4gb slim)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,538
Default Re: upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard?

It won't help much in terms of overall power output. Maybe help with ripple or handle a higher spike but that's about it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard?

This place called BadCaps.net will provide you with guides on how to re-cap your board, they also provide cap "kits" for known boards plagued with bad caps and they can sell you high quality caps separately at a fair price and provide tools for doing your own soldering.
https://www.badcaps.net/index.php?pageid=overview

And PP is correct, replacing the caps won't help the specs
__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard?

but for example if i upgrade the mobo caps and psu caps
then replace system drive with ssd and remove the cdrom drive and upgrade to a better cpu fan
and better memory modules

i should be able to have a more stable voltage when i push it to the max vs not having those upgrades?
__________________
(win 10 pro)(32gb ddr3-1600 )( HP6300 pro elite sff)(i7-377@3.40ghz)
(250gb ssd evo 860)(4 tb WD storage)(nvidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti 4gb slim)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard?

Yes, new caps will make your system more stable if your old caps have gone bad, of course an ssd and more memory will help the system become more efficient, it will boot up faster and open your programs quicker but there are still limits associated with the fsb and chipset, depending on how old this board is
__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 06:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,538
Default Re: upgrading capacitirs in PSU and motherboard?

Replacing caps still won't change the overall power output characteristic of the PSU. You would have to change the entire design for it to handle more power from the board up. Will it handle it's continuous load better? Yes, but it won't change peak power rating.

PSUs aren't like hotrodding old tube guitar amps to get more output or saturation.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading PSU and Video Card, Help Please Im Not An Addict System Upgrades 3 10-28-2011 07:27 PM
Upgrading Ram, GPU, and PSU DrDigitized2 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-21-2011 11:11 PM
Upgrading GPU and PSU deathville New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-30-2010 10:33 PM
Upgrading PSU and MOBO Blitersety New Systems | Building and Buying 17 09-22-2008 07:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.