Upgrade RAM Speed ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2008, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Upgrade RAM Speed ???

I just picked up a Dell Inspiron 530 w/2140 Intel dual-core, 1GB DDR2-667 PC2-5300 RAM.

I want to upgrade to 2GB Total.

My motherboard is "supposed" to be able to support DDR2-800 PC2-6400.

Is there any noticeable difference in the RAM speeds or should I just buy and additional 1GB of DDR2-667 PC2-5300 ????
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Upgrade RAM Speed ???

i found quite a difference so id get 800mhz
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Upgrade RAM Speed ???

Depending on the rest of your components, the extra speed might not even get used.

Also, if you upgrade, get a 2x1GB kit so that you will have dual channel.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Re: Upgrade RAM Speed ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Depending on the rest of your components, the extra speed might not even get used.
When would the extra speed be used ??????
Katmandu is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrade RAM Speed ???

Just get a 2x1gb kit to replace the 1gb...might as well get a 800mhz set as well since your system supports it...the speed difference you will experience will be mostly due to the increase in memory though, not the frequency.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Pc upgrade advice ttoadish System Upgrades 6 03-22-2008 02:47 PM
RAM Upgrade Vortex187 System Upgrades 2 12-26-2007 07:06 AM
Ram timings vs Cpu clock speed neilnpatel Overclocking and Modding 4 10-29-2007 04:47 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.