upgrade ram (noob) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 18
Default upgrade ram (noob)

hey, i am about to get some new ram and i wasn't sure if i should get pc 3200 or something faster. BTW what determines what memory speed your computer can handle?
__________________

c<64 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 31
Default

what are you using the comp. for? The type of ram you need is determined my your mobo.
__________________

neocamp22 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 18
Default

i am using my computer for gaming. hl2, doom 3, etc. my mobo is a chaintech VNF4 socket 939. at newegg it says the ddr standard is 400. so could i buy something faster?
c<64 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If you don't intend to overclock there's really no point in buying faster memory unless you want to lower the multi and raise the FSB, and even then AMD64s have enough memory bandwidth anyways with LDT.

Despite popular belief, it is the CPU which dictates memory speed, not the motherboard. A motherboard supporting DDR will support any DDR speed, however the CPU FSB has to be able to support than speed.

On Athlon 64s, the memory controller runs the RAM at 200MHz, therefore you want PC3200 as you mentioned you were looking at.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 18
Default

i was thinking of ocing but am still not sure. So, if i raised the fsb of the cpu i would be able run faster ram, right? say, from 200 to 220 MHz or something.
c<64 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://www.xbitlabs.com/web/display/20050712044117.html

Here ya go, interesting read that shows that AMD64s can run RAM at DDR1000 if you lower the LDT and FSB multipliers enough. Of course no RAM would be capable of running those speeds and the motherboard bios setting wouldn't run that high, but that goes to show how effective the hypertransport bus is.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 18
Default

so would it be better to buy good pc 3200 and oc it, or just buy pc 4000 and raise the fsb of my cpu. thanks for the help so far
c<64 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

decent pc3200 should do fine if you don't want to go over 250fsb my geil value won't go over 240 but its value and thats with decent timings 3-3-3-5
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.