Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2007, 11:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

Hey guys, I have been OCing my q6600 and things weren't going too bad but I can't get it to run Prime95 for more than 5 minutes without getting an error. I have the g0 stepping and a P5K mobo along with a Zalman9500 heatsink (temps idle @ 26deg) For ram im using Buffalo Firestix PC2 6400 2GB, great OCing ram from reviews and everything should be just fine.. but nope.. like I said, unstable. I am fairly new to this so could someone please help? I want my cpu @ 3GHz becuz i know it can for a joke with the temps that i get.
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

what speed and timings is your ram set to?

Also, you might need to look up settings to disable/enable in advanced bios settings for that P5K. Some settings will interfere or benefit your overclock. I'm only familiar with the Gigabyte S3 series, so I can't help you there.

Also, could just be faulty ram, I'd do some memory testing, and try Orthos instead of Prime95. Get the version that stresses two cores with one session, and since you have 4 cores, run two sessions of it

I'm assuming with Prime95 you're running 4 instances, right? I wouldn't know, I'm not too familiar with Prime95, I know with the regular version of Orthos you have to open and run a new session for each core. Some people say that Prime95 is Orthos without the GUI, I doubt that, because people get different results from one to the other. I'm sure there's something different about the algorithm that will yield different results. I've heard people say that Prime95 gets errors quite easily, while Orthos will run for a lot longer, when you're right at the edge of your overclocking limit. Plus, you're on air man, don't expect 4GHz, although your should get to about 3.4GHz.

Another important thing is to check your voltages on both ram and cpu.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

Also, have you boosted the voltage on the memory at all? Most p35 boards set the voltage at 1.8 which is probably at the very bottom if not actually undervolting the memory.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

Yeah, that's a good point... those Firestix should apparently be running at 2.1v by default!! Maybe that's the problem?
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

alot of my stuff is on auto currently becuz i was hoping that it would just bump itself to watever it needed for the overclock.. that doesn't seem to be the case tho.. im using 333mhz X 9 multi. 1.32 v and Ram voltage is at auto... maybe I should juice it a bit?
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

oh yeah, definitely, but don't go past 2.2v on the ram though, and that vcore looks like it needs a little boost.

as for the settings set to auto, you need to google up your board and find out what other overclockers are putting their settings to. Anything that regulates the clock speed while the computer's idle or claims to give a "performance boost" is generally a no-no.

and always remember, a 1:1 FSB/memory ratio is best for system stability
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

As general voltage settings go, +.2 for memory, +.1 for everything else is pretty safe and should stabilized everything.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwurdigliebe
I'm assuming with Prime95 you're running 4 instances, right? I wouldn't know, I'm not too familiar with Prime95, I know with the regular version of Orthos you have to open and run a new session for each core. Some people say that Prime95 is Orthos without the GUI, I doubt that, because people get different results from one to the other. I'm sure there's something different about the algorithm that will yield different results. I've heard people say that Prime95 gets errors quite easily, while Orthos will run for a lot longer, when you're right at the edge of your overclocking limit. Plus, you're on air man, don't expect 4GHz, although your should get to about 3.4GHz.
The reason why Prime95 gets errors easily, is probably the settings. If they're using the latest version of it, they have to set to "memory to use", lower. It's default at 1750MB of RAM usage, and it can error, even at stock speeds. I use Prime95, and in my opinion, it's better than Orthos, for quad cores, because it natively supports four instances. Rather than opening two and setting them to two cores each. I set the memory usage to 1024MB of RAM usage, and it's better that way. For Prime95 users, I suggest setting RAM usage to 1024MB, under the custom test option.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

ok cool.. ill try that then.. thanks :-)
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 01:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: Unstable Q6600 @ 3GHz?

crap.. changing the ram didnt work.. still failed within a few seconds..
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Q6600 and QX6700 Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-10-2007 03:56 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM
Unstable PC w/o Overclock? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 12 05-21-2007 01:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.