[Unsolved] Car Subwoofer For Computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2006, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Question [Unsolved] Car Subwoofer For Computer?

Viewers
Thank you for at-least attempting to read and help me in this matter. I am attempting to hook-up a car subwoofer to my computer. Problem is I have no clue how to wire the subwoofer (Never even seen the wiring of one) and I have no clue as how to power it. Luckly, I yet to even buy the subwoofer but I really want to use it.

Can someone please help me out?
__________________

DaveTheAve is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You would have to make a headphone type plug, to plug into your computer.

Then you'd have to find a 110/120v - 12v adaptor, with a sh*tload of amps. (I think anyway, don't those subs run off the 12v car battery?)

It probally won't even sound that good.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Well, the headphone plug I have covered, that can be done with a simple trip to my local radioshack. (30min away)

Powering is were i'm concerned; is there somekind of converter I can plug into the wall and use?
DaveTheAve is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

You need a 120v -> 12v converter that can put out AT LEAST 20 amps. An easy way to tell how many amps you want is this:
Take the RMS wattage of the amp youre using, and divide by ten. If its a 200 watt amp, you need 20 amps, if its a 400w amp, you need 40 amps. Its not exact, but its close, and we've used it for years in car audio.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Well he did offer me a 1200watt amp... So that means I need a 120v->12v that will output a mininum of 120amps? Then plug the amp into that and the subs into the amp right? Do they even make the converter that high?
DaveTheAve is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

not really u would either need a car amp or a stereo receiver. computer push zero amps so u wouldnt even produce a sound .ur best bet would be to use a car amplifier for the sub cuz they are both set to run at 4ohms while home stereo is 8 ohms so ur sub would distort. if u really want that bass buy a powered home stereo amplifier u can those in 12inch and already have a power source that u could just plug into the wall without having to make an adapter as for the car amplifier a home stereo sub u can buy a simple adapter.but in perspective it is not a good idea for either just buy a nice set of comp speakers
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default

So I just looked at Radioshack.com for AC-DC converters... i'm completly lost. Any help please?
DaveTheAve is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family is about the biggest I can find. Can you get me a link to the amp you want to use? I know its going to be more than 25 amps but I dont think it will be as high as 120amps. Never know though, some amps will draw that much power. You dont need a 1200w sub anyways. Ive got an Infinity 1042w in my tractor. Its only a 10" 250rms 1000max sub, but she hits hard, and an amp to drive it would run off the converter in the link.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 04:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpikedCola
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family is about the biggest I can find. Can you get me a link to the amp you want to use? I know its going to be more than 25 amps but I dont think it will be as high as 120amps. Never know though, some amps will draw that much power. You dont need a 1200w sub anyways. Ive got an Infinity 1042w in my tractor. Its only a 10" 250rms 1000max sub, but she hits hard, and an amp to drive it would run off the converter in the link.

WOAH WOAH WOAH!!

You have a AMP in your tractor?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 04:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
WOAH WOAH WOAH!!

You have a AMP in your tractor?
Hahaha, that's what I was thinking... :amazed:



If you decide to do this, make sure the speaker is like 4 feet away from your computer, so you don't have any magnetic interferance, which can cause data corruption.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.