unlocking cores? huh? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2011, 10:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 68
Send a message via AIM to TheDancingFetus Send a message via MSN to TheDancingFetus
Default Re: unlocking cores? huh?

I put a Phenom II 555 BE in my fiance's computer and was able to unlock it to a quad and get a stable overclock to 3.8ghz. I was impressed since I only gave $70 for the CPU, but I got lucky. My friend got the same CPU and mobo, but was unable to unlock any and have the system run. Also to keep in mind when unlocking is that you will be using more transistors, so you will have more power consumption/heat.
__________________

TheDancingFetus is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 08:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: unlocking cores? huh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
No, AMD chips are 4 individual cores, completely seperate so turning 1 off shuts it out. Intel on the other hand works in pairs, so a quad hasx 2 sets of duals.
That was supposed be done away with when the i7's came out making Yorkfield the last paired dual chip. Did a very small Google search, so could be wrong.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 01:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
aikbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 174
Default Re: unlocking cores? huh?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
That was supposed be done away with when the i7's came out making Yorkfield the last paired dual chip. Did a very small Google search, so could be wrong.
I think you're right on this one, I remember reading something within an article on architectural changes about a year or two ago.
__________________

__________________
aikbix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlocking PHENOM II x2 555 to 4 cores on stock cooler ---- SAFE TEMPS? crazypig99 Overclocking and Modding 1 01-01-2011 04:05 PM
Unlocking Cores with an AMD CPU oconnor08 System Upgrades 1 10-09-2009 03:48 AM
12 Cores aint nothing, try 80 Cores!! Osiris New Technology and Products 4 05-07-2009 04:41 PM
8 Intel Cores Faster Than 16 AMD Cores? Osiris Overclocking and Modding 9 05-28-2007 08:47 PM
unlocking cpu..... newbie88 Overclocking and Modding 9 03-20-2004 03:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.