Unlocking an 80 GB HDD to make it 120 GB? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 10:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

guys this is so sweet, I just unlocked the two extra cores on my opteron 165!! now I have a quad core CPU!!!! your uncle must have been on some kind of hallucinogenic drug.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

This isn't my uncle, this is a friends uncle. I think it is possible to do, but I just doubt it's actually being done. I tried a search on Google and found nothing on it. So, it's probably BS.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

This guy also said Intel processors are far better than AMD's so, he might not be as smart as we thought. lol
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I have a feeling he is like many of my friends who say AMDs will burn up in 2 hours of extensive testing in normal enviroments.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

That guys is an idiot. All i got to say.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

did you guys know that a male is actually born with a hidden 2nd penis? God just locks it before you're born, but there are actually programs made by jesus to unlock the 2nd penis...I unlocked my last week, the ladies love it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

ROFLAMO
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 01:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
did you guys know that a male is actually born with a hidden 2nd penis? God just locks it before you're born, but there are actually programs made by jesus to unlock the 2nd penis...I unlocked my last week, the ladies love it.
Especially for a 3 some.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 01:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

wouldnt be surprised at anything these days..
it may be cheaper for a company to make 50 120gb harddrives and sell 20 as 80gb ones...i dunno
isnt that what happens somtimes in CPU's? O_o. correct me if im wrong
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 01:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gimli of gloin

isnt that what happens somtimes in CPU's? O_o. correct me if im wrong
i believe so..
i have a P4 3Ghz [15x200]
and my mate has a P4 3.2Ghz [16x200]
the only difference is the multiplier...
__________________

__________________
P4 3.00Ghz/HT 1Mb Prescott OC\'ed to 3.50Ghz
ASUS P4S800-MX
1024Mb DDR 400 PC3200 [2x512mb]
Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 200Gb 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 6200 256Mb
LiteOn 12x DVD + R/RW
480W PSU
JamesR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.