Unlocking an 80 GB HDD to make it 120 GB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Unlocking an 80 GB HDD to make it 120 GB?

A friend of mine just told me his uncle (supposed to be a computer wiz) said that 80 GB hard drives start out as a 120 GB hard drive. But, the company will "lock out" 40 gigs to make it an 80. Evidently, there are programs to unlock this extra 40 gigs on your hard drive. Is this true or is his uncle smokin something? If it's true, how would I go about doing this?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

This uncle is smoking something serious......
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It could very well be true that companies produce 120Gb or larger drives that end up with broken or corrupt sectors and thereby lock those specific sectors and sell it as a smaller hard drive, as the same thing happens with GPU pipelines and processor cache...however, this is the first time I've heard of such a concept and I've never heard of unlocking a hard drive therefore I'm going with no
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I very much doubt it, although I actually woudn't be surprised if it were true
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i doubt it too but if it is true i will try it
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I agree with gara, but to come up with software that can unlock Harddrives, it would be pretty hard.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

What will this world come to? Pretty soon we will be unlocking 'hidden' pistons in our cars or something stupid like that.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

that would be funny as hell....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KorKwin
What will this world come to? Pretty soon we will be unlocking 'hidden' pistons in our cars or something stupid like that.
haha or unlocking secret hidden turbo's
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
It could very well be true that companies produce 120Gb or larger drives that end up with broken or corrupt sectors and thereby lock those specific sectors and sell it as a smaller hard drive, as the same thing happens with GPU pipelines and processor cache...however, this is the first time I've heard of such a concept and I've never heard of unlocking a hard drive therefore I'm going with no
Like Gaara I highly doubt this. The only thing they do is a hard drive manafactuer use 1 platter in a drive that could hold 2.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.