Unlock PHENOM II x2 555 ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2011, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Cool Unlock PHENOM II x2 555 ?

hello,

can you help me unlock my amd phenom II X2 555BE with MSI 785gtm e45 MoBo? i've tried to unlock the cores using its cpu unlocking features but i guess it's not working? any suggestions. thanks!
__________________

2030270 is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 01:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Unlocking PHENOM II x2 555 to 4 cores on stock cooler ---- SAFE TEMPS?

If you have tried unlocking the cores in the BIOS and it didn't work then your chip does not have any extra working cores. While that is uncommon it is not unknown.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 04:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unlocking PHENOM II x2 555 to 4 cores on stock cooler ---- SAFE TEMPS?

While that is uncommon it is not unknown. - what do you mean by this Sir Trotter? Anyways, i can unlock the 2 cores but that problem is it doesn't show that "Starting Windows" while Windows & is loading and it doesn't push trough to the main desktop. maybe there is something that we can do about this concern. any words of luck that may help me with this problem. thanks
2030270 is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Unlock PHENOM II x2 555 ?

Sooooo... are the other two cores unlocking or not? The first post says no, but now you say yes. I am a bit confused.

My wife's computer is running an Athlon II x3 that unlocked the fourth core and now shows up as a Phenom II x4 B35, but not in every program. BIOS sees it like this, as does Belarc Advisor, but not some others. Is this what you are talking about?

If it won't boot when you unlock the cores then it is not stable. Unstable means unusable unfortunately.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unlock PHENOM II x2 555 ?

it shows Phenom II X4 B55 when it loads at the start up screen but it doesn't continue loading to the main desktop. it hangs.
2030270 is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 03:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Unlock PHENOM II x2 555 ?

If you mean start up screen as the post....
Like Trotter said if you hang or freeze or BSOD with your cores unlocked than one or both are bad and will not be stable.

In short. I'm sorry but you're SOL.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnLock IT Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-21-2010 10:04 AM
Unlock iPhone is supposed to unlock the Apple iPhone Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 07-14-2007 06:28 PM
unlock cpu harry18 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 02-21-2006 05:51 AM
Best BF2 Unlock NIN PC Gaming 28 01-12-2006 08:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.