Unknown shutdowns... Overheating? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Default Unknown shutdowns... Overheating?

I have a thermaltake aluminum case. With like 8 fans. My CPU temperature is 78 degrees Celcius according to the BIOS monitor (is that high)? Well my real problem lies in the computer keeps shutting itself down. No warnings nothing. It's as if pulled the plug and i press the power button and it comes right back up. It doesn't show any pattern its random. Sometimes won't happen for the whole day sometimes 4-5 times a day. It's being goin on for 2 weeks. Can someone tell me if they ever heard of such a problem?
__________________

xvnutjobvx is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Yeah dude .. that is quite a high temperature ... N' i'm pretty sure that's the reason for ur system shutting down ..
Check if the fans are running properly..Or upgrade to a better Fan
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

you dont want a temp over 60 really. 50 is ieal, 55 is common.

Did you build this computer? What type of processor does it have? What heatsink/fan do you have on it? What thermal compound did you use to attatch it?
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

ALso .. the heatsink compound should not be applied as a thick layer .. a thin layer should be good enough

Check for the speeds the Cpu fan is at
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

with 8 fans 78 is high make sure all your fans are working and you have all the fans going in proper directions ie: having a complete air flow
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Default Thanks guys

First i'm going to get a new tube of silicon and put the heat sink on again because i remember i put it on the first time and i had to take it off after like 10 minutes because i forgot to put the temperature probe in under the CPU. The silicon was starting to dry when i put it back on but i had the computer running flawlessly for about 3 months now and it just started shutting down on me. I just changed the chassis fan setup. The CPU heatsink and fan is a big copper fan from Zalman. It's huge. The fan spins at around 2600 RPM according to the BIOS. I noticed that my video card gives off a lot of heat. Its a Radeon 9800 XT 256MB. So i'll play around with different things and i'll see. Thanks alot guys!
xvnutjobvx is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default Re: Thanks guys

Quote:
Originally posted by xvnutjobvx
First i'm going to get a new tube of silicon and put the heat sink on again because i remember i put it on the first time and i had to take it off after like 10 minutes because i forgot to put the temperature probe in under the CPU. The silicon was starting to dry when i put it back on but i had the computer running flawlessly for about 3 months now and it just started shutting down on me. I just changed the chassis fan setup. The CPU heatsink and fan is a big copper fan from Zalman. It's huge. The fan spins at around 2600 RPM according to the BIOS. I noticed that my video card gives off a lot of heat. Its a Radeon 9800 XT 256MB. So i'll play around with different things and i'll see. Thanks alot guys!
Use a thermal compound such as arctic silver 5.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 05:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

I used a product called Arctic Silver Ceramique Premium High-Density Thermal Compound. It has worked great, lower my average temps almost 10 degrees C (over thermal pad)..plus it's less electrically conductive (almost non-conductive).

It's a little thicker than most thermal compunds, but it's pretty easy to spread.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 09:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Default Best thermal grease for AMD and Intel

You should be using SPECTRA COOL thermal grease for standard clocking or OC. It is electrically non-conductive as well as non-capacitive. You will not short out your CPU if you accidentally get some where it shouldn't be. SPECTRA COOL is much safer than silver grease yet it equals or exceeds it in cooling capacity.

You can find it here.
Allan is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

what size is your psu
__________________

amd643200+ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.