Underclocking 6600GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2005, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default Underclocking 6600GT

So I've noticed that it runs at 300MHz in 2D mode, would it be a problem to drop it down to 250 or even 200?
Idle temps are between 45 and 50C which isn't too bad but I woudn't mind taking that down a bit.
I've already looked into the Zalman VF700Cu cooler, which I'll definatley be buying, I'm just trying to get rid of as much heat as possible.
Thanks,
-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 01:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Don't underclock it, because then you won't be getting the performance that you paid for. Temperateures are OK up to about 90C. The Zalman will make a big difference.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I mean just for 2D mode, 3D mode will still be at 500MHz. I really dont need performance when surfing the web and writing papers and what not. I just wanted to know if it is safe.
Thanks for the reply
-Joe
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes just enable coolbits, and go thru the overclock ( but underclock )

In 2dmode, he is not going to notice a difference at all...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Temperature or speed wise DJ? And can I use the built in Nvidia OC thing, or should I go through the registry. I know it does the same thing both ways.
Or wait... you use coolbits to open the temperature window in the Nvidia properties anyways, and mine is already there. Check. Sweet, thanks a bunch.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

if i were you i wouldnt underclock it. You wont gain anything from it. If anything it my damage the gpu having to make the bigger just in speed when you go into game.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You need to do the registery thing to enable the nvidia overclocking
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 10:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I've seen 6600GTs running over 100 degrees and still working fine so those temperatures really aren't something to be concerned with
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-31-2005, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
I've seen 6600GTs running over 100 degrees and still working fine so those temperatures really aren't something to be concerned with
Lowers the life substantially.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 09:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Meh, not substantially, GFX cards run MUCH hotter than any CPU at stock speeds. Underclocking it will do nothing, except possibly stability issues with the card, though I'm not sure. Like was said, it may be detrimental. You will gain nothing, absolutely NOTHING, from underclocking your card. There is no reason to do it.

50ºC idle is GOOD, especially for a stock cooler! I had an FX5600 and it idled at 61ºC. Get the Zalman, and then overclock it!
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.