Under powered gpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 01:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default Under powered gpu

Ive been having problems with my 6600gt and i have decided its a combination of 2 problems. My gpu isnt getting enough power, and its getting too hot. I have the aerocool jetmaster, and i need to buy new fans because its as loud as a vacuum. also, what is a good power supply to power my pc? specs in sig. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

What is the temperature on the video card?

You suck at giving needed information, so im guessing this is your PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182010

If it is, you don't need a new one.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

sorry you grouch. jk. Sorry i was in a hurry. besides i dont know much. I havent checked the temp on the card yet. What are the normal operating temps? ill check tomorrow. also, i dont know how to check temps so im gonna use a temp gun. where should i point it? and when should i check them? during something like aquamark 3d? i know i just asked alot but thanks
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Does anyone know the sizes of the fans on my case? or where i can find them? Do you suggest any fans?
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you have a 550W PSU, even by a crappy brand like rosewill, power is not the issue.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PoisonPorkchop
sorry you grouch. jk. Sorry i was in a hurry. besides i dont know much. I havent checked the temp on the card yet. What are the normal operating temps? ill check tomorrow. also, i dont know how to check temps so im gonna use a temp gun. where should i point it? and when should i check them? during something like aquamark 3d? i know i just asked alot but thanks
Go to control panel, click display, then click the tab 'Settings'. Hit the button 'Advanced'. Then click the Tab in the new window that lists the brand of your Video Card (ex GeForce 6800 GT). In the new thing that appears on the left, select 'Temperature settings'. This will give your GPU temp at the moment, although it isn't stressed, we should be able to tell if heat is an issue by what the value is.

People here know programs to record temps during games, I don't...hopefully they will post...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Can someone please post a program to monitor temps?
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.