Unbiased opinions on a system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 05:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
6600 GT <------- there is a E-PCI and AGP version...is this important enough to base my system around an EPCI ?
It's PCI-E not EPCI

Your mobo has to have a PCI-E slot which your current one doesn't.

Basically all you really need to do for that setup dude is get that 6600GT....if you get it from eVGA within 90 days if you have more money you can upgrade to the 6800GT by paying the difference between what you paid for the 6600GT and the cost of a 6800GT ($399.99) so basically if you pay $199.99 for a 6600GT, within 90 days if you have $200 more you can upgrade to the 6800GT, it's a pretty good deal.

Don't bother upgrading your RAM, valueRAM will be fine for your uses and I can guarantee you you won't notice a substantial increase in speed going from valueRAM to high performance RAM. High performance is only worth the price if you overclock em
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks, Nubius.

What about swithcing the AMD XP 3000+ for a Sempron 3.1GHz?

Are the Sempron just as reliable....?
__________________

rushy is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

its reliable but unless ur really strapped for cash they are a no go area. see if u can find a 2800 754 amd 64 maybe.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rushy
Thanks, Nubius.

What about swithcing the AMD XP 3000+ for a Sempron 3.1GHz?

Are the Sempron just as reliable....?
Don't go the sempron 3100+ route, poor gaming peformance. Keep with your 754 3000+ (an Athlon 64, not Athlon XP)

You want an athlon 64 processor, cheap and good peforming. No celeron, no sempron, no Athlon XP.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

OK thanks mate Ill go with that then.



thanks to everyone for their help!!
rushy is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aspire.comptech
no it wont. My graphics card is a 5600 ultra and it wont play all games at full settings. Also the psu that comes with the case may die on you and take the system with it.
im running that same psu and it is great. its stylish too. i also overclock and i havent had any problem with it.
__________________

__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.